+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 330
    Discipline
    Civil
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,003

    Default Offset along a curve?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Here's a problem I keep running into. Maybe there's a command to do it, but I haven't found it.

    I have a road with a centerline. I want to offset a line that is perpendicular to the centerline. No problem when the road is straight, but sometimes it curves. Is there a simple way to offset a line so that it remains perpendicular to the curve?

  2. #2
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    Sounds like that would require a lisp routine. Also sounds like it would be a bit tricky to write.

    I just use LENGTHEN - TOTAL and click the centreline to get it to shorten to the desired chainage. Then note the coords of the endpoint, then undo to get the original centreline back, then draw a line to those coords.

    A bit of mucking around....but it works.

  3. #3
    Senior Member RFRUSSO's Avatar
    Using
    Architectural DT 2006
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Dark side of the Moon
    Posts
    285

    Default

    When you off set from your center line, are you using the offset command or are you using the copy command? If you are using a spline to get the curves in the road and then you use the offset command it should offset to what ever value you tell it to.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    2,074

    Default

    If I understand your question...

    No simple way. And it may depend if the offset distance is also measured along the curve, or is the straight-line distance between points on the offset object. How do you do it now? My thought was to make a duplicate, then "rotate" the copy, using the "reference" option.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Norts's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    448

    Default

    ever tried the MEASURE command ?
    here's what i would do.

    1. turn the entity(ies) that you wish to offset into a block.
    2. trim the centreline that you wish to offset along, using the block created in step 1 as your trim line.
    3. measure along the centreline you trimmed in step 2, ensuring you click as near as possible to where you trimmed it.
    4. enter B (for block).
    5. enter name of the block you created in step 1.
    6. enter Y for Yes to the question Align with object. (This will ensure your block is perpendicular to your centre-line).
    7. enter length along your centre-line that you wish to offset.

    Hopefully, the above should give you what you desire, if my interpretation of your initial post is correct.
    Posting no more
    ...................................................


  6. #6
    Super Moderator Strix's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    3,074

    Default

    Having read that three times, I suspect what you're trying to do is a 'polar array'

    try the array command, and select 'polar'

  7. #7
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,387

    Default

    Do you want to offset something at regular intervals along the centreline?

    It is quite hard to visualize what you want to do, and perhaps a picture would clarify matters

  8. #8
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 330
    Discipline
    Civil
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,003

    Default

    All right, more detail.

    The goal is to place contours along a road. If there's an even slope, the contours cross the centerline at regular intervals. They also cross the curbs at a known offset from where they cross the centerline. I'm looking for an easier way to place contours along a curve; it's a simple Offset on a straight section.

    At present, I draw an arc of arbitrary length along the centerline from the previous point, use Lengthen to find the proper point, and draw a line to locate the contour crossings. It's clunky, but my previous methods were even clunkier. Sorry, Alan and Norts, I can't change the existing curve because it's a polyline, the road alignment.

    Yes, LDD will do it for me. When I get more confident with templates and cross sections, I'll probably do it that way. What I'm doing now is a stopgap.

    Thanks for your time and your suggestions.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Norts's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    448

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CyberAngel View Post
    Sorry, ... Norts, I can't change the existing curve because it's a polyline, the road alignment.
    You can always copy the road alignment and trim the copied part.

    Geez, talk about, leading a horse to water.
    If only the horse would take a drink !
    Posting no more
    ...................................................


  10. #10
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 330
    Discipline
    Civil
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,003

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Norts View Post
    You can always copy the road alignment and trim the copied part.!
    Yes, but then I'd have to explode it to get the arc I needed, and I'd have the other segments of the polyline cluttering up my drawing. I prefer not to do it that way.


    Quote Originally Posted by Norts View Post
    Geez, talk about, leading a horse to water.
    If only the horse would take a drink !
    One thing I like about this forum is the professionalism. Attitude is easy to find elsewhere on the Internet. This is unnecessary.

Similar Threads

  1. How do I do curve (arc) text?
    By Anya_N in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2008, 06:24 pm
  2. function curve
    By karagozm in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 3rd Apr 2006, 11:30 am
  3. Intersection curve
    By jan21 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Nov 2005, 07:54 pm
  4. one curve in two planes
    By inventingdreams in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th May 2005, 11:22 am
  5. 3D Curve
    By Twilight in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th Jul 2003, 03:46 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts