+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default Raster to a Vector drawing

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm using Acad 2006 full version

    Hi all

    I have a drawing containing over 800 splines and have sent this to an engineers to be cut to form a stencil. They said at the moment it is a "raster" drawing and it needs to be a "vector" drawing. They assure me it is a very simple thing to do, but they don't have Acad themselves. They said it can be changed by setting it to "create less enteties", ideally 7-8,000.

    I've already had a look in help and I can see where I can change the resolution of the vector, but it doesn't say what format I'm saving it in.

    Does anyone know what they're after? Do I just change the res. of the vector and save to the .dwf?

    Many thanks, Matt

  2. #2
    Super Member profcad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    profcad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Dual - Six-Core Xeon
    RAM:
    12GB
    Graphics:
    NVida 4400
    Monitor:
    DUAL 24" WIDESCREEN
    Discipline
    Education
    profcad's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Professor Of CAD
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    Revit 2014
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    829

    Default

    You need to asked them what file format that want.

    If they don't have AutoCAD it will have to be converted to another file format.
    John Helton
    Professor of CAD
    Oklahoma City Community College
    Oklahoma City, OK

  3. #3
    Banned
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Belgie
    Posts
    126

    Question

    maybe open your dwg in rhinoceros save as AI ?

    you are always in vectors unless you to a raster image format..

    what type of toolpath cutter/CAM are they using?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,091

    Default dxf not dwf

    Quote Originally Posted by Skins View Post
    Does anyone know what they're after? Do I just change the res. of the vector and save to the .dwf?
    Dwf? I would suggest saving as dxf. The dxf format is recognized by most CAM software programs. There may also be problems with the fact that you used splines to create your drawing. It's better to use lines and arcs when you are planning on creating toolpaths from your geometry.
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    They can work with .dwg files they just don't have Acad to alter them. It seems, from your responses, that I need to ask them more questions.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    All they are saying now is that there are too many lines. Their machine can only cope with 7-8000 maximum. They assure me it's a simple operation, but as I'm dealing with a third party so I can't ask them questions directly.

    Any ideas?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,091

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    That's what I meant when I said you will have problems because you created your drawing using splines instead of lines and arcs. Splines are actually made up of hundreds of tiny line segments which causes problems when trying to convert the linework to machine code. You're going to have to convert your splines to polylines.
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Converting raster to vector (.TIF to .DWG)
    By Kundera in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 18th Feb 2008, 05:04 pm
  2. Problem when backup drawing with raster image on CD
    By slcman in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2005, 01:13 pm
  3. RASTER TO VECTOR CONVERSION
    By VALAH in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th Jul 2005, 03:43 am
  4. Raster to Vector
    By gsieber in forum Catch All
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th Apr 2005, 12:06 pm
  5. Drawing a vector / arrowhead
    By schnabel in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th Jan 2005, 06:54 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts