+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2006
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2

    Question creating polyline from x,y coordinates

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    I have a many x,y coordinates located in excel that i need to turn into polylines. However, i cannot find a function in AutoCAD that will allow me to enter multiple x,y coordinates in order to create a polyline.
    Can i import the excel file and make polylines from the data located in the spreadsheet? Or is there a table where i can enter in all of the points to create my polyline? I really can't imagine entering the thousands of data points one at a time.

    BTW i am using AutoCAD LT 2006

    Thanks!
    Last edited by spacepointer; 4th May 2007 at 12:57 am.

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    2,074

    Default

    You can copy and paste coordinates to AutoCAD's command line, as input to the "pline" command. First get your coordinates into "x,y" format in a single column in Excel. Paste the 1000's in one shot if you want.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2006
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default

    That creates another problem for me since i have all Xs in one column and all Ys in another. Just getting them into x,y format in a single cell would take hours. Unless there is another way.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    In Excel insert a column with commas between X and Y column then use the 'CONCATENATE' function to combine all three columns- then you can copy and paste that column to the command line

  5. #5
    Forum Deity
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    2,074

    Default

    Similar to what Nugg' suggested:

    In Column C, the formula, copy down:
    =A1&","&B1

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    canada, eh!
    Posts
    607

    Default

    just thinking...in excel could you not export the file as a comma delimited text file (i know corel quattro pro does)?..open that then do the cut n paste....
    Last edited by hazardman; 4th May 2007 at 08:02 pm.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Motherboard:
    Intel DZ77RE-75K
    CPU:
    i7-4770K 3.50GHz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    125GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    500GB SATA
    Monitor:
    ASUS 27" / ASUS 24"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    3,919

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    So you have a spreadsheet that contains two columns like this:

    5000 5000
    5100 5234
    5500 6754
    5100 7250
    4988 9876

    ...and you want to create a polyline?

    1. Save the spreadsheet as a .CSV file.
    2. Open this in Notepad.
    3. Add a line at the top of the file that says ._PLINE
    4. Save this file.
    5. Change the file extension to .SCR.
    6. Run this as a script file in AutoCAD.

    Here is what the SCR file should look like in Notepad when you are finished.

    ._PLINE
    5000,5000
    5100,5234
    5500,6754
    5100,7250
    4988,9876

Similar Threads

  1. Coordinates
    By Stil in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Apr 2007, 09:47 am
  2. collecting coordinates of polyline thru vba
    By vivekgrs in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th Sep 2006, 01:22 pm
  3. Coordinates
    By Ken in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th Dec 2005, 03:51 pm
  4. X,Y, and Z coordinates
    By Scot C. Perry in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Jul 2005, 03:51 pm
  5. 3d coordinates
    By tjb in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Jun 2005, 09:15 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts