+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default How to import Excel x,y,z data into AutoCAD

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all,

    Hopefully someone can help me here, i'm a bit of a novice at all of this.

    I have an excel file containing xyz co-ordinates that i wish to import to AutoCAD (2005).

    I realise you can probably do this using the lisp function, but i don't know how they work, and wanted to know if there is an easier way.

    Any help is appreciated.

    Cheers,
    sjm

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,581

    Default

    If you want to draw a 3D polyline to connect the dots try this:
    In excel get your data in x,y,z format. This can be done by creating an equation to concatenate the data; e.g =A1&","&B1","&C1 where cells A1, B1 and C1 hold the x, y and z values. Highlight the new column and press Ctrl+C (copy). In autocad start the 3dpoly command, when it prompts you for a start point, paste the coordinates (Ctrl+V) at the command line.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks lpseifert,
    This would work but i don't want to draw a polyline and want to have the points only.

    [This survey data is to be then imported into another survey, and then contours plotted for all the points]

    Any other ideas ?

    Cheers
    sjm

  4. #4
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,543

    Default

    So enter MULTIPLE POINT in the command line and paste the coords as lpseifert says
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks guys, points all successfully inserted

    sjm

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hello, I've gotten this all in but if I wanted to add a label, say point BC-09,BC-10,etc and have it show up in autocad next to the points I've entered into the display with the Multiple,Point command. I would prefer a similar copy and paste from excel command.

    Thanks in advance.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Prime8,

    The following lisp tool does exactly what you are looking for. The author is Mario Torres, check out his web (3w dot construcGeek dot com), his always uploading useful stuff.

    It is in spanish, but i think is easy enough to use it even if you dont know spanish. however, if you have problems i can translate it


    Regards
    [COLOR=#000000 ! important]xLDes>en GoogleC
    [COLOR=#000000 ! important][COLOR = 000000! important] xLDes in GoogleC [COLOR = 000000! important] edit: I add a sample excel template so you know how must be the format. [/ color] [/ color][/COLOR]
    [/COLOR]
    Attached Files

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I may need another explanation that is simpler and in english. Also, I have a spreadsheet of over 400 points.

  9. #9
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Prime8 View Post
    Hello, I've gotten this all in but if I wanted to add a label, say point BC-09,BC-10,etc and have it show up in autocad next to the points I've entered into the display with the Multiple,Point command. I would prefer a similar copy and paste from excel command.

    Thanks in advance.
    The pasting from Excel is possible with one type of data only. If you want to write labels, you are dealing with two types of data. One type is the x,y,z position and the other type is the label text.

    Lisp will do that easily. Size is no problem. I have a lisp (not available for posting) which did 10,000 points in 29 seconds.
    Last edited by eldon; 20th Aug 2009 at 10:24 am. Reason: Just timed the input

  10. #10
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,543

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    A possible solution: draw the points and use a script to put the texts near them. It is a poor approach since there is no connection between the points and the texts.
    Use Excel to generate a script file.
    Assuming X is stored in the column A, Y in B and the text in C, enter in D1 the formula:
    =concatenate("text_",A1,",",B1,"_",2.5,"_",0,"_",C 1,"_")
    Replace the underscores with spaces, I used underscores to clearly mark where to put spaces.
    Here are the explanations: First you instruct AutoCAD that you wish to start the TEXT command. Put a space after it –it will act like the Enter. A1 and B1 are the cells where the cords are, separated by a comma.
    Again a space (read: Enter)
    Enter the text height (only if you don’t use a fixed height text style) fallowed by a space.
    Enter the rotation angle -zero is for horizontal, but you may enter any legal value, and again a space
    Enter the address of the text to be placed on the screen: C1
    A final space will terminate the command.
    Once you get the first line, select D1, click and hold the black dot in the right down corner and drag it down to apply the function to all the lines.
    Click the column head D (right the letter D) and all the column should be selected. Press CTRL+C, open Notepad and paste the text. Add an extra CR and save the file as Anyname.SCR
    Drag this file in AutoCAD’s drawing area.
    Of, and I would disable the snap before that.

    An other approach could be to place in the drawing blocks containing a point and an attribute. The way is similar, just use the "Insert" command instead of "Text" and provide the answers as AutoCAD expects them.
    script.GIF
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

Similar Threads

  1. Can I plot data from EXCEL in AutoCAD?
    By aror in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 15th May 2012, 02:38 pm
  2. Good Question: AutoCAD/Excel Data Linking
    By AutoCAD Insider in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th Apr 2007, 05:40 pm
  3. Excel --> AutoCAD with Dynamic Data Exchange (DDE) method
    By HofCAD in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st Sep 2006, 08:46 am
  4. Excel data sheets into Autocad
    By Milner in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th Aug 2005, 05:39 pm
  5. Import Excel files to Autocad 2000
    By renuke in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th Mar 2004, 10:53 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts