+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 25 of 25
  1. #21
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default what do you mean "extra CR"?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by fuccaro View Post
    A possible solution: draw the points and use a script to put the texts near them. It is a poor approach since there is no connection between the points and the texts.
    Use Excel to generate a script file.
    Assuming X is stored in the column A, Y in B and the text in C, enter in D1 the formula:
    =concatenate("text_",A1,",",B1,"_",2.5,"_",0,"_",C 1,"_")
    Replace the underscores with spaces, I used underscores to clearly mark where to put spaces.
    Here are the explanations: First you instruct AutoCAD that you wish to start the TEXT command. Put a space after it –it will act like the Enter. A1 and B1 are the cells where the cords are, separated by a comma.
    Again a space (read: Enter)
    Enter the text height (only if you don’t use a fixed height text style) fallowed by a space.
    Enter the rotation angle -zero is for horizontal, but you may enter any legal value, and again a space
    Enter the address of the text to be placed on the screen: C1
    A final space will terminate the command.
    Once you get the first line, select D1, click and hold the black dot in the right down corner and drag it down to apply the function to all the lines.
    Click the column head D (right the letter D) and all the column should be selected. Press CTRL+C, open Notepad and paste the text. Add an extra CR and save the file as Anyname.SCR
    Drag this file in AutoCAD’s drawing area.
    Of, and I would disable the snap before that.

    An other approach could be to place in the drawing blocks containing a point and an attribute. The way is similar, just use the "Insert" command instead of "Text" and provide the answers as AutoCAD expects them.
    Attachment 13943
    what do you mean "extra CR"?

  2. #22
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    fuccaro's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Mechanical eng.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,577

    Default

    Just press ENTER to indicate the end. CR means "carriage return" -it comes from the old typewriters when people had to pull a handle to return the moving part of a mechanism at evry new line. I admit that these days it sounds old, but computer users will relize that it means "enter". It is ASCII 13 (or ASCII 13 followed by ASCII 10 if it goes to the next line).
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  3. #23
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by fuccaro View Post
    Just press ENTER to indicate the end. CR means "carriage return" -it comes from the old typewriters when people had to pull a handle to return the moving part of a mechanism at evry new line. I admit that these days it sounds old, but computer users will relize that it means "enter". It is ASCII 13 (or ASCII 13 followed by ASCII 10 if it goes to the next line).
    Oh thanks for the info. You sparked my interest and a long research session in character coding. There sure is a lot of history to it.

    Ive been trying to write a script to plot leaders with annotative text labels from xyz data and a label title column. I tried using the method you explained for ploting text labels but the problem is once the "leader" command is started and the start point and landing point are given, the text I place for the command path doesn't go into the leader text box. Also I can't find a command that ends the leader command. It just keeps asking for the next line of text if you use a space (" ") for enter.

    Any ideas?

  4. #24
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default thanks

    thank you very much

  5. #25
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    you can by <concatenate>in excel and select point,multi point in autocad page and make
    paste

Similar Threads

  1. Can I plot data from EXCEL in AutoCAD?
    By aror in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 15th May 2012, 02:38 pm
  2. Good Question: AutoCAD/Excel Data Linking
    By AutoCAD Insider in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th Apr 2007, 05:40 pm
  3. Excel --> AutoCAD with Dynamic Data Exchange (DDE) method
    By HofCAD in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st Sep 2006, 08:46 am
  4. Excel data sheets into Autocad
    By Milner in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th Aug 2005, 05:39 pm
  5. Import Excel files to Autocad 2000
    By renuke in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th Mar 2004, 10:53 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts