+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Combining mtext

  1. #1
    Senior Member johnengineer's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    162

    Default Combining mtext

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Autocad Express Tools allows converting text to mtext. How would I be able to combine multiple mtext into a single mtext?

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,124

    Default

    A routine to do just that is included in:

    ToolPac 11.0 by dotsoft. $245 US.

    A steep price to pay unless you can make use of the other routines included or you have a great deal of mtext to combine.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    Have you ever tried Copy/paste??????

    It really is very easy.........

  4. #4
    Senior Member johnengineer's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    162

    Default

    It would be tedious if the drawing had multiple mtexts.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,799

    Default

    if the MTEXT are all in line, the EXPLODE to text, then run the TXT2MTXT command.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    93

    Default

    That command works, but they are still stacked into lines. I see you can stretch the text by grabbing the handles and modifying it until it is on one line, but then it has spaces between the former lines. Do you know a way of having it do that automatically, and remove spaces where you want to?

    Example:

    123
    456
    789


    becomes:

    123456 789

    The space between 3 and 4 removed.

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    93

    Default

    it seems like if there was a way to do the mtext ruler without the dialog box that would be the key. but ddedit and mtedit don't seem to work in command line only.

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    3ds Max Design 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.


Similar Threads

  1. Combining layer rename lisp
    By royalchill in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th Mar 2007, 06:59 pm
  2. Help Combining/Joining two objects...
    By Hiwatt25 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Feb 2007, 12:41 am
  3. Can Lisp use mtext to make multi string mtext editor?
    By muck in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th Dec 2006, 03:22 am
  4. combining a cad rendering with a photo?
    By ironman in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th Jul 2005, 10:36 pm
  5. MTEXT created in same MTEXT editor on different layers?
    By hyposmurf in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th Sep 2003, 12:54 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts