+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Senior Member Siberian's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Siberian's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Siberian's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer, HVAC
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    455

    Default Having objects "stay connected" when moved

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I've noticed that dimension lines often stay connected to their objects if you move them, which is very handy, but can this also be done with regular lines that are snaped to objects? Is this effect controled by a variable of some sort?
    If at first you don't succeed - remove all evidence you ever tried.

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    canada, eh!
    Posts
    607

    Default

    sorry but the "association" is dimension specific only...

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,139

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You can't do this by simply snapping a line to an object, but you can achieve it by creating a dynamic block. Open the attached drawing, click on the block to select it and then grab the blue grip in the center of the circle. You will then be able to drag the circle around on screen and the line will remain attached to the Quadrant snap point. You can also grab the blue grip on the end of the line and stretch it around.
    Attached Files
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Convert "body" to "Solid"
    By powerdog in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12th Jun 2007, 04:11 pm
  2. "LINK template" icons "greyed out" -why?
    By Chrisjpritchard in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd Mar 2007, 10:25 pm
  3. scaling in "architectural" & "decimal"
    By maze in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th Feb 2007, 04:55 pm
  4. Lisp for "dividing" objects
    By fade2blackened in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16th Mar 2005, 02:55 pm
  5. "Union" Meshes or "Slice" 3D Mesh
    By Peter31712 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th Apr 2004, 11:11 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts