+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: 3d hatch?

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    64

    Default 3d hatch?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I want to hatch, fill in, solid, some 3d rectangle blocks, how do i do this?

    thanks

    Dave

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    You can't apply a hatch pattern to the face of a 3D object, but you could draw a boundary polyline around the face of the object and then hatch that. You will need to adjust your UCS and align your XY plane to each face you want to place the hatch pattern. You need to keep in mind that the hatch will not show up when you render though. The correct procedure is to apply materials to your 3D objects.

    Wait a minute, how are you working with 3D objects? You're using LT!
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    639

    Default

    Maybe `shade' command might suit your needs, not sure if its in LT. though.
    cheers Paul.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    You can also use solids editing (color faces option) just fill different shades color in each face. Not sure if you are using LT.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    64

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    thanks for replies guys, yep using LT, so options are very limited,

    I guess the closed polyline creating a boundary on each face is my only option?

    regards

    Dave

Similar Threads

  1. Hatch
    By FIFTHTEXAS in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28th Jun 2007, 10:34 am
  2. Hatch
    By Antisthenes in forum Rhino
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th Feb 2007, 08:26 am
  3. hatch
    By ralph reboja in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Feb 2006, 12:06 pm
  4. hatch
    By Valerie in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th Sep 2005, 09:59 pm
  5. HATCH IS TO BIG
    By ERIC in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th Aug 2005, 02:59 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts