+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    rusty's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7
    Computer:
    Dell T3500
    CPU:
    Xeon
    RAM:
    8
    Using
    Civil 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Trondheim, Norway
    Posts
    47

    Default "Locked" Viewports

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm using Autocad 2005/Map 3D.

    After creating a viewport and zooming in on what I want to print, I sometimes copy/paste the view and want to reuse the viewport, but zoom in on something else. The problem is, when I select the viewport and go to modelspace, I'm unable to pan, zoom or otherwise change what's already in the viewport.

    How do I remove this lock?

    PS: It only happens most of the time, not always.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    try typing MV -> L -> Off ... does that help?
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  3. #3
    Senior Member James's Avatar
    Using
    Revit 2009
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    357

    Default

    right click the viewport > display locked = no
    10100.co.uk ONC/HNC Building Studies :: FCAD32 :: AutoCAD 2009 :: Revit 2009 :: Architectural Technician A.C.I.A.T ::

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default

    I cannot select the viewport. It looks like it is on screen but when i try to click on it it cannot be selected. I can double click to get into the viewport but i cannot stretch it or move it.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2004
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default rotation in viewport

    How can i rotate the texts on viewport?

    Autocad LT 2004

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Strix's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    3,081

    Default

    can you explain that a bit further?

    are you wanting to rotate the text that's in modelspace (the bit you're actually looking at when you're looking at a viewport) or is it laid over the viewport and actually on your paperspace?

    click the model tab and see if you can edit it there
    Find your new best friend at Rain Rescue

    If you are a good drafter, tech will help. If you are a bad drafter, nothing will help. - Jack_O'neill at CADTutor

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    rusty's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7
    Computer:
    Dell T3500
    CPU:
    Xeon
    RAM:
    8
    Using
    Civil 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Trondheim, Norway
    Posts
    47

    Default

    @Tiger and stilljames
    Sorry that didn't work. MV-L-OFF/ON executes the command, but nothing changes. R-click->display locked = "no".

    When I doubleclick my viewport the line around it gets thicker, but nothing else happens. I'm unable to scroll in and out, rotate or anything else.

    What do I do?

  8. #8
    Super Member rustysilo's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rustysilo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WinXP
    Discipline
    Civil
    rustysilo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior CAD Draftsman
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL - USA
    Posts
    1,458

    Default

    Perhaps the vp is on a locked layer? Check that. If you still have trouble post the file.

    Are we able to upload files here?
    "Constantly choosing the lesser of two evils is still choosing evil." ~ Jerry Garcia
    flickr |
    work | blog | creed
    rustysilo's tips & tutorials

  9. #9
    Super Member happyunited's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    588

    Default

    are you sure there is only one viewport?

  10. #10
    Super Member profcad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    profcad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Dual - Six-Core Xeon
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA GeForce GTX980TI
    Monitor:
    DUAL 24" WIDESCREEN
    Discipline
    Education
    profcad's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Professor Of CAD
    Discipline
    Education
    Details
    AutoCAD Revit Inventor Soldiworks
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    856

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Perhaps the layer is turn off or frozen.
    John Helton
    Professor of CAD
    Oklahoma City Community College
    Oklahoma City, OK

Similar Threads

  1. Convert "body" to "Solid"
    By powerdog in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12th Jun 2007, 04:11 pm
  2. "LINK template" icons "greyed out" -why?
    By Chrisjpritchard in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd Mar 2007, 10:25 pm
  3. scaling in "architectural" & "decimal"
    By maze in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th Feb 2007, 04:55 pm
  4. VBA problem in create a "region" use "addlwpo
    By clarence_cad in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th Sep 2005, 08:19 am
  5. "Union" Meshes or "Slice" 3D Mesh
    By Peter31712 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th Apr 2004, 11:11 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts