+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member kduck63's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Naples, FL, USA
    Posts
    212

    Default lost oblique arrowhead

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    After importing a block of a floor plan, I seem to have lost my oblique arrowheads. I can select and use all the other types of arrowheads, but when i select the oblique style i get nothing.

    I'm dimensioning in pspace.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Norts's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    448

    Default

    i think the easiest solution would be to open up a new drawing, create a dimension using oblique arrowheads. explode the dimension, then copyclip the oblique arrowhead; then pasteclip this into your 'other' drawing.
    thus, you should be able to use oblique arrowhead in your dimensions again.
    Posting no more
    ...................................................


  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Using
    Architectural DT 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    218

    Default

    The arrowhead should be a block definition that the dimstyle manager controls. If you try it norts way, you should purge the drawing first to make it effective.

    I would first check to see that your dimstyle settings are all correct and it didn't change on you. And, by disappeared, do you mean that it isn't showing up on your drawings or that it isn't an option in the dimstyle manager? If it isn't showing up, it's most probably because it was resized to being very small, so you might want to try to make sure the settings are correct or do what Nort suggested.

  4. #4
    Senior Member kduck63's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Naples, FL, USA
    Posts
    212

    Default

    OK, got it.

    I tried to purge the bad dwg of unused dim styles to get rid of the _oblique arrow blocks, but i could not fully purge all occurrences. When i tried to edit the _oblique block i got a blank edit screen - there was nothing there. So i exploded a dim from a good dwg and used it to redefined the _oblique arrow block.

    Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

  5. #5
    Full Member DECHAL's Avatar
    Computer Details
    DECHAL's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Dell Precision Laptop
    Motherboard:
    ?
    CPU:
    Intel ?
    RAM:
    ?
    Monitor:
    21" Flat Screen (Dell)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Hi All,

    Just upgraded to 2013.. Now Doing a 2D drawing and trying to DIM up. My Oblique Arrow heads are missing (seeen to be turned off) is this possible? How Can I Fix this. Have check the DIM style and all loos good.. But no Arrowheads!

    Regards,

    DECHAL.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    A number of forum members (including myself) have noticed some strange things going on with 2013. You would do well to read some of the posts. Specifically 2013 doesn't play nicely with earlier versions. It seems to strip dynamic properties from dynamic blocks for one. I suggest you not let the fox into the hen house if you have a library of blocks, back them up and keep them isolated from 2013. Probably if you are working on 2013, and save to and stay on 2013 you will be okay, but others have reported numerous problems with their 2012 software after consorting with 2013. Don't assume I have given you the whole story, read more posts, and be careful. The arrowheads will be the least of your problems, if you are not careful.

    Might you want to try copying a dimension with the oblique arrowhead to your clipboard then pasting it into your current drawing? Perhaps that would get you back in the game.
    Don't open drawings on older formats and save them as 2013 file dwgs without reading what others have to say.
    I hope that helps, and that I have scared you sufficiently that you will do your due diligence.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

Similar Threads

  1. Leader Arrowhead
    By HOUGHTE in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Apr 2007, 12:24 pm
  2. Custom arrowhead code need help to improve
    By JeepMaster in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th Apr 2006, 05:21 pm
  3. Oblique Text
    By chixwithtrix in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Apr 2005, 02:51 am
  4. Oblique threads, student needs help!
    By chixwithtrix in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23rd Mar 2005, 07:55 pm
  5. Drawing a vector / arrowhead
    By schnabel in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th Jan 2005, 06:54 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts