Revit vs ADT

Hatch

BIM or Cad?  

58 members have voted

1. 1. BIM or Cad?

• Revit
    • ADT
    • Other

I work for a large architectural products manufacturer.

We are considering investing resources developing tools for our products to be available for Revit users.

If you are involved in architectural design - does your company use Revit?

Thanks

I tried revit, I didn't like it much, the no command line thing threw me. I would rather use chief architect than revit any day.

I work for a large architectural products manufacturer.

We are considering investing resources developing tools for our products to be available for Revit users.

If you are involved in architectural design - does your company use Revit?

Thanks

Well, i'm no pro at Revit, but off the top of my head I would say that you can't develop products for Revit. well, you COULD, but I don't think it would work the way Revit is designed to work. It's not really a CAD program, it is a true BIM system. From what I assume, everything has to be made to interact with everything.

For instance, when you insert a mechanical ductwork line in Revit, it knows that it's a piece of duct. or if you have a chill water line that's interfering with a steel joist, Revit knows that it's a pipe that conflicts with steel. Understand?

I could be wrong, but I would guess it's not just as easy as simply drawing up a custom product library and incorporating it into the ADT tools/palettes available for your customers like ADT can.

Either way, if you find out more on it, let us know. :thumbsup:

StykFacE: I understand what your saying, I was thinking more of an application to assist in the downloading and organization of families of our product to be used in Revit. Kind of like a block library tool for AutoCAD.

Thanks for the input.

hmmm. Must not be many architect visits here.