+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31
  1. #21
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    I prefer doing it the AutoCAD way, so I do not have to move it out of the folder. So many great ways to do things, everyone needs to try em all and see what works best. I used to do it just like Strix and ended up changing somewhere along the way.
    What's the AutoCAD way ?

  2. #22
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,818

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alan Cullen View Post
    What's the AutoCAD way ?
    It is explained pretty good in the 2000i help files.

    Solution
    You can open BAK files in AutoCAD by first renaming the extension so that it has a DWG extension. These steps show how to do this using Windows Explorer.
    1. Using Windows Explorer, browse to the folder where the drawing (file with DWG extension) is located. Note: Steps 2 through 8 are only applicable if the drawing is not missing or misplaced.
    2. Highlight the file in Explorer.
    3. Right-click on the file name and select Rename from the pop-up menu.
    4. Using the arrow keys, move the cursor right after the period in the file name, then delete the DWG file extension.
    5. Enter OLD after the period. The drawing will now have OLD as its file extension. This saves the drawing in case it is needed later.
    6. Press ENTER to complete the change.
    7. When the Rename dialog box displays, choose Yes.
    8. In Explorer, browse to the drawing file with a BAK extension.
    9. Highlight the file in Explorer.
    10. Right-click the file name and select Rename from the pop-up menu.
    11. Using the arrow keys, move the cursor right after the period in the file name and replace the BAK file extension with DWG.
    12. Press ENTER to complete the change.
    13. When the Rename dialog box displays, choose Yes.
    That ^^^^^^^^^

  3. #23
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    laqa's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Hi, did not work for me. Is there another way?

  4. #24
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by laqa View Post
    Hi, did not work for me. Is there another way?
    What didn't work exactly? Changing the file extension to .dwg or opening the drawing after renaming?
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  5. #25
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    laqa's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Renamed OK, could not open. Thanks.

  6. #26
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    Ok, so what error message did you receive when you tried to open the renamed file?
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  7. #27
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    laqa's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Posts
    14

    Default

    I got this. [IMG]G:\Estruturas\Autocad\Error_Message_bak_ext-changed.png[/IMG]
    Thanks

  8. #28
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    laqa's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Posts
    14

    Default

    It's drawing file not valid, I do not know if I sent it right. Thanks.

  9. #29
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,176
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  10. #30
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    laqa's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Posts
    14

    Smile Thanks, fortunately I recovered the drawing (it was elsewhere saved as dxf).

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks, fortunately I recovered the drawing (it was elsewhere saved as dxf). All the best.

Similar Threads

  1. How can I open a .plt file?
    By Ricardo in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 21st Aug 2012, 11:18 pm
  2. How do I open a dat file?
    By Cadastrophic in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 17th Feb 2011, 09:27 am
  3. I Want open Bak file
    By ponrajesh in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23rd Apr 2007, 11:57 am
  4. Can't open a file
    By ovidiu_autocad in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd Aug 2006, 01:24 am
  5. can't open dwg file
    By tommy in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st Dec 2005, 02:37 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts