+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41
  1. #1
    flyingal
    Guest

    Default understanding drawing scale and scale factor

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi:
    I am a newbie AutoCADer and am having some problems getting the hang of applying the drawing scale to my assignment. I understand the scale factor that is applicable to the printing only and that AutoCAD doesn't care about the units used...but something is not clicking here and I'm sure it is pretty simple. My assignment requires me to draw 3 simple structures at 1/8" scale on 11X17 paper. Each house is 20' long with 10' walls and each is done in absolute, relative, and polar. I actually completed the work with all 3 formats without specifying the scale or paper size, just to get familiar with the commands. But now that I am trying to set the dimensions correctly, I cannot replicate my work because I'm getting lost in the way things are defined. Any help would be appreciated. I am using AutoCAD 2005, also have a 2002 version to which I can defer.
    Thanks everyone!

  2. #2
    odon
    Guest

    Default

    Scale factor (as used by AutoCAD) is always a reciprocal of the drawing scale.

    AutoCad uses the unit one as the base unit.

    For example, if you wish to plot a mechanical drawing at a scale of 1/2 = 1 the reciprocal of 1/2 is 2/1 which is 2. Therefore the scale factor is 2. If this drawing was to be plotted on a 11 x 17 piece of paper the limits would have to be 34,22. Text would be .25 high and other settings made for this scale to be plotted properly.

    Another example would be an architectural drawing plotted at a scale of 1/4 = 1-0. Changing feet to inches so the units are all in inches gives us 1/4 = 12. Dividing both sides by 12 which is the same thing as multiplying by 1/12 we obtain 1/48 = 1. The reciprocal of 1/48 is 48. The scale factor then is 48. If this drawing is plotted on a 11 x 17 piece of paper the limits would have to be 816,528 (68,44). Text would be 6 high (.125 times 48 = 6). Other settings would have to be made for this scale to be plotted properly.

    Another example would be a metric drawing made full size. 1 = 25.4. Dividing both sides of this equation by 25.4 we get 1/25.4 = 1. The reciprocal of 1/25.4 is 25.4/1. The scale factor therefore is 25.4.
    Text (originally .125) then would be made approximately 3 high (.125 X 25.4 = 3.175). Text (originally .25) then would be made approximately 6 high (.25 X 25.4 = 6.35). Other settings would have to be made for this scale to be plotted properly

    The scale factor of a drawing should be determined and utilized during the time of drawing set up.
    The proper scale factor is extremely important because it makes sure that text (height, etc.), dimension values (dimscale), hatch patterns, limits, and linetype scale (ltscale) are plotted at the proper size.



    Samples:

    A drawing scale of 1 = 1 has a scale factor of 1
    A drawing scale of 1/2 = 1 has a scale factor of 2
    A drawing scale of 2 = 1 has a scale factor of .5
    A drawing scale of 1 = 60.0 has a scale factor of 720
    A drawing scale of half size (metric) has a scale factor of 50.8


  3. #3
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Livingston, Scotland
    Posts
    995

    Default

    why on earth would someone want to "draw to scale" in Autocad ?
    surely the whole point about computers/CAD is that we can get away from that old drawback of paper.
    In CAD, the space is "infinite", everything should be drawn at 1:1 ~ viewports are where any "scaling" factors should come into play









    and here starts another argument
    ResourceCAD.... the Resource for your CAD Solutions

  4. #4
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Lenovo ThinkStation D20 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5503 (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    4 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro FX 580 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    500 GB HDD (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    4,904

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hendie
    why on earth would someone want to "draw to scale" in Autocad ?
    surely the whole point about computers/CAD is that we can get away from that old drawback of paper.
    In CAD, the space is "infinite", everything should be drawn at 1:1 ~ viewports are where any "scaling" factors should come into play
    and here starts another argument
    Read this tripe....

    http://www.rosegill.com/Bullpen/SoapBox/Illusions.html

    This is from the owner of Engineered Software, the maker of PowerCADD ( a mac only CAD app.).

    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  5. #5
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Livingston, Scotland
    Posts
    995

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f700es
    Read this tripe....
    I don't think they have a smiley for what I'm feeling after reading that !
    ResourceCAD.... the Resource for your CAD Solutions

  6. #6
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Lenovo ThinkStation D20 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5503 (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    4 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro FX 580 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    500 GB HDD (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    4,904

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hendie
    Quote Originally Posted by f700es
    Read this tripe....
    I don't think they have a smiley for what I'm feeling after reading that !
    Everyone here needs to visit that site and just take a look at the way they act. It's no wonder there anti-apple sites all over the net, with attitudes like that. It just kills me. These users throw off on AutoCAD in about everyother post. They try to make fun of us drawing 1 to 1 yet when a cross platfrom program like VectroWorks or SketchUp draws 1 to 1 it is ok..

    Got into a internet arguement with one of their users on another forum a couple of years ago after he said that we could not do solid fills, had no accuracy, could not export to illustrator (or anything else for that matter), unstable program and other un-founded remarks. Evern called me a liar when I posted some screen images of things that he said Acad could not do. I'll put Acad up against just about anything.

    another smily for them...



    F7
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  7. #7
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,661

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f700es
    Read this tripe....

    http://www.rosegill.com/Bullpen/SoapBox/Illusions.html

    This is from the owner of Engineered Software, the maker of PowerCADD ( a mac only CAD app.).
    A joke surely? No one can still hold views like that - at least not if they live in the 21st Century. I have to say that this sort of view is propagated by people who find the transition from drawing board to computer rather confusing. They feel much more comfortable working with an electronic version of their old tried an trusted manual tools. Their loss - new technology means new tools and new tools means new method and new method leads to new opportunities.

    It's a brave new world but some are just a little bit scared to jump.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  8. #8
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Lenovo ThinkStation D20 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5503 (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    4 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro FX 580 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    500 GB HDD (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    4,904

    Default re:

    David, I wish that was a joke but it is not. Browse through the their/his site and see. www.engsw.com
    I am also sad to say but these guys are only about an hour away from me here in NC, USA.
    Here is their forum...http://powercadd.designcommunity.com/index.php

    Pretty pathetic to me :evil:
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  9. #9
    Super Member gcp310's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    physicaly - Australia, mentaly - Another Planet
    Posts
    696

    Default

    End of the day you need accuracy,and drawing to scale the old way is just not feasable.

    Small minded Souls. I love macs for their simplicity, but hate them for the lack of cross platform programs.

    Tell me, isnt Archicad a 1-1 program?

    G

  10. #10
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Lenovo ThinkStation D20 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5503 (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    4 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro FX 580 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    500 GB HDD (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    4,904

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by gcp310
    End of the day you need accuracy,and drawing to scale the old way is just not feasable.

    Small minded Souls. I love macs for their simplicity, but hate them for the lack of cross platform programs.

    Tell me, isnt Archicad a 1-1 program?

    G
    Not sure about Archicad but it probably is. Just about every CAD/3D application I can think of does 1:1. To me it is just another example of the "Mac - I'm better than you attitude". I work with 2 mac users and they both have this attitude that since they us macs their designs are automatically better .
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts