+ Reply to Thread
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5
Results 41 to 50 of 50
  1. #41
    Full Member JimB's Avatar
    Computer Details
    JimB's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DEL, XPS, M1530
    RAM:
    4 gig
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm so confused.

    Could you both tell me if you demension off the original red line (the original line in the attached file) you are able to get an exnsionline of 200?
    You can or you can't.

    Because I can't not even in the file that Alan has sent.

  2. #42
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,819

    Default

    I could only get it to work by turning "fixed extension line" off.

  3. #43
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    JimB,

    Please listen to me. Forget about your 200. Never ever use it or think about it. That is the route of your problem. If you persist in having that 200, you will never solve your problem. Just forget all about it. Do not even think about how it worked in previous drawings. Just forget it ever existed. Then start to learn all about the dimstyles as they currently exist.

    From this point on, I cannot help you anymore, as long as you have this fixation with 200, then no-one can help you.

  4. #44
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,819

    Default

    Do you have any 3rd party add-ons?

  5. #45
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    AGM, that is not a bad call.

    Can I hand this over to you? I've got to go to bed soon.

  6. #46
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    I'm just now checking into this thread and I have to say that this is the strangest thing I've ever seen. I can dimension to any line I draw in your drawing except that red one. Even if I stick a dimension out in space it's fine until I try to drag it's definition point onto that line. The second the point hits the line, the extension line disappears.

    Was this drawing created in Autocad or some other software?
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  7. #47
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    That is really strange. I had absolutely no problem dimensioning that line. My setup here at home is stock standard 2007 out of the box install. No preference setups whatsoever. So you have to ask the question, is customisation causing this.

  8. #48
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,819

    Default

    I gave this another look.

    The extension line is 200. In your current view you just cant see it. You need to reposition the view so that you look straight at the line. I set the z values to 0 and then dimensioned the line, it has a 200 extension.

  9. #49
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    I really don't know. I thought you may have been onto something there, AGM. But I flattened everything, and my textstyle works perfectly on everything, including the red line. I'm ******ed.

    JimB, try flattening everything, then use the dimstyle I gave you and see what happens.

  10. #50
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,819

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Here I have the UCS aligned to object. The extension lines are small but still 200.
    Last edited by SLW210; 7th Feb 2008 at 07:26 pm.

Similar Threads

  1. No more mystery plots
    By daaper in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th Jun 2006, 03:27 pm
  2. Dimension Text Mystery
    By erc3 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th Jan 2006, 06:08 pm
  3. Line Extension Add-on
    By scotty in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st May 2005, 03:39 am
  4. Extension line problems
    By clanda in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd Apr 2004, 03:05 pm
  5. mystery mtext problem in r14
    By ian_foster in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd Jun 2003, 11:32 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts