+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Cad Drafting

  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5

    Default Cad Drafting

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    hay my name is john and im in the middle of an electrical drafting apprenticeship, i have a drawing where there are radiation waves for a tower, i have to put in certain new bearings but the north point is in a different direction (angle) ive went into units and changed the diection of 0 degrees, and teh bearings still won;t change and also what is the best way to write the bearings in autocad i forgot how to???

    ANY IDEAS
    CHEERS

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    639

    Default

    Sounds like you need to rotate your UCS, to match your north
    try UCS , 3 (for 3 points, origin, x-axis, y-axis) also the notation should be degrees/minutes/seconds, something like this....
    You civil guys feel free to correct me..
    Last edited by PS_Port; 31st Oct 2008 at 01:22 pm.

  3. #3
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    Couldn't open your image, Paul.

    Bearings are written as follows: 325%%d42'38"

    Ah, your image just took a while to load up.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,720

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alan Cullen View Post
    Couldn't open your image, Paul.

    Bearings are written as follows: 325%%d42'38"

    Ah, your image just took a while to load up.
    That %%d doesn't work here Alan.

    Yes, you need to rotate the UCS. You might find using the UCS Object handy.

  5. #5
    Super Member profcad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    profcad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Dual - Six-Core Xeon
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA GeForce GTX980TI
    Monitor:
    DUAL 24" WIDESCREEN
    Discipline
    Education
    profcad's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Professor Of CAD
    Discipline
    Education
    Details
    AutoCAD Revit Inventor Soldiworks
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    856

    Default

    Once you changed your angle type to surveyor's units, you can enter a bearing like this...

    N03d14'16"E
    John Helton
    Professor of CAD
    Oklahoma City Community College
    Oklahoma City, OK

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Ok ive got the 0 point, but i need to copy a pannel from bearing to bearing to bearing , hw should i do that?

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    639

    Default

    Ok you've lost me on that one, by pannel do you mean a line or an object of some sort,
    and are you copying from base point to another point, when you say bearing to bearing this implies to me, you are rotating maybe?

    Cheers Paul.

    Maybe try Copy-> then type @distance<bearing e.g. @1000<58d30'30" (1000 being mm for me you might be in m)

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5

    Default ..

    ok lets asy line lol i need to copy it 10 times to 10 different areas (e.g. these areas are set like 35 degree 10' 10'' etc)

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    639

    Default

    I'll do my best, If I have made any wrong assumptions on your question
    then feel free to disregard this response.
    see pic.
    You have an original line/object etc. (green line) and you want to copy it to other (multiple) positions (blue) `1,2,3' which the bearing `X,Y,Z' are known,
    you will also need to know the distance of `X,Y,Z'.
    Start the copy command , select line, enter, type `M' for multiple
    Then type distance<bearing (as stated in previous post) for point 1,bearing X then enter,
    and repeat this process for (Y,2) (Z,3).....

    hope this helps. sorry for the rushed explanation but my boss wants to drag me to the pub.. so better g
    Last edited by PS_Port; 31st Oct 2008 at 01:21 pm.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,531

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by profcad View Post
    Once you changed your angle type to surveyor's units, you can enter a bearing like this...

    N03d14'16"E
    That's the way I do it.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


Similar Threads

  1. Drafting Standards
    By spoine in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30th Aug 2007, 01:43 am
  2. Architectural drafting
    By mtlndg in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 28th Mar 2007, 04:51 pm
  3. D - Drafting Settings
    By CAD Panacea in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st Jan 2007, 07:31 pm
  4. layers for basic drafting
    By jared98366 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13th Dec 2006, 02:08 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts