+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default just received a PLT file...

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    How can I open/view/plot these?? Thanks in advance...
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  2. #2
    Senior Member G-Prime's Avatar
    Computer Details
    G-Prime's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Vista SP1...
    Computer:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400
    CPU:
    2.66Ghz
    RAM:
    8G
    Discipline
    Electrical
    G-Prime's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Monkey
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    MEP 2011
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Canaduh
    Posts
    194

    Default

    To view them you can drag it to a PDF maker and it will convert to PDF.

    The plt file is the middle output of a PDF.

    As for editing it, I am not sure if you can edit it
    CAD version : MEP 2011
    REVIT version : MEP 2011
    Total Newb : YES

  3. #3
    Super Member riga's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    723

    Default

    To convert plot files into DWG/DXF see this site:
    http://rkmcswain.blogspot.com/2005/0...to-dwgdxf.html

    To print plt files here some suggestions:
    http://www.cadforum.cz/cadforum_en/qaID.asp?tip=2096
    HAVE A NICE DAY

  4. #4
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    tried to open it in Adobe Acrobat Pro 8.0 and nothing happened.... any more ideas?
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    639

    Default

    Man a .plt file , thats a blast from the past.
    About 15 years ago when we didn't have a network I would print to a file .plt, copy that file to floppy, take to a computer
    with a printer then through DOS copy that file directly to the printer something like
    c:copy A:drawing.plt LPT1

    Maybe you could do this through Windows or My computer..

  6. #6
    Super Member riga's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    723

    Default

    Yes, it can be done from windows with dedicated SW (as suggested in the lik I post above). Google for print plt files to find more free SW that allow you to print the file.
    PS_Port, I use a lot of time the PLT files even today... If a company use another CAD SW and they have to sent you a drawing sometimes is better they send you a PLT file... the plot will have the right settings and you don't lose time setting the line weight, scale and plot style on a dwg file created with a SW that is not 100 % compatible with autcad
    HAVE A NICE DAY

  7. #7
    Super Member mdbdesign's Avatar
    Computer Details
    mdbdesign's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 U 32 BIT, WIN10 PRO 64 bit
    Computer:
    Homemade
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE G31M-ES2L
    CPU:
    INTEL CORE 2-QUAD-Q6600@2.4GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 9800 gt 1gb
    Primary Storage:
    WESTERN DIGITAL 500GB
    Secondary Storage:
    WESTERN DIGITAL SSD 1TB
    Monitor:
    2 - 22" HP + 24" Dell
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    mdbdesign's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designing Engineer in Engineering Department
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    Pressure tanks Oil processing & storage equip. Steel mill equip. Telecom towers & equip. Wind turbine towers Power plant structures Structural and miscellaneous steel etc.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Courtice, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    855

    Default

    Styk try express tools-file tools-convert plt to dwg

  8. #8
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Computer:
    HP ZBook 17
    CPU:
    i7-4810MQ @ 2.80 GHZ
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro K4100M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) HP 23"
    Discipline
    Civil
    rkmcswain's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    CAD Manager
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,445

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mdbdesign View Post
    Styk try express tools-file tools-convert plt to dwg
    Almost no chance that will work, it only supports HPGL format (i.e.: pen plotter)

    There are plenty of .PLT file viewers out there, google it.
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  9. #9
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,536
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  10. #10
    Super Member rustysilo's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rustysilo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WinXP
    Discipline
    Civil
    rustysilo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior CAD Draftsman
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL - USA
    Posts
    1,458

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I use BitView
    "Constantly choosing the lesser of two evils is still choosing evil." ~ Jerry Garcia
    flickr |
    work | blog | creed
    rustysilo's tips & tutorials

Similar Threads

  1. Just received Student Software need laptop please help!
    By RobertPierce in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 17th Jun 2009, 04:14 pm
  2. Received DWG To Work On - Can't Fill or Xref A Border?
    By xi-web in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th Aug 2008, 08:02 pm
  3. Received a dwg but scale is not compatible
    By Amy in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8th Apr 2008, 09:57 am
  4. Converting CAD file into powerpoint file like video file
    By rattaka in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Sep 2007, 05:46 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts