+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    Junior Member shellb's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default Elevation rendering

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am still a CAD student. I am using version 2008. I am currently working on a basic house elevation. When I look up examples of elevations on the internet, they are all very detailed. I am having problems accomplishing such detail on my rendering. For example I am working on some shutters which are looking pretty pathetic. I thought I would add a gradient “shadow” in between the slots on the shutters to make them look realistic. It didn’t work. So then I saved it to a jpeg and thought I could add some detail in Photoshop but that feels too complicated. It feels like it should be easier than that. I haven’t taken any 3-D classes yet. I’m wondering if that might be part of my problem. Also when I print my drawings they are always black and white. I’ve never had a class where we produce color drawings. Are the renderings I’m seeing on the internet much more advance AND are they done with other software besides AutoCAD? Basically how are these other renderings (which basically look like photographs) done?
    Last edited by Lazer; 25th Sep 2007 at 10:40 am. Reason: I reduced the size of text.
    Shell


  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Regarding black n white colour prints, are You selecting monochrome or black and white print when you are plotting? or may be your plotter can only plot black and white prints.
    Regarding rendering - well ppl do use photoshop to render acad drawings to give it realistic effects. It is a little difficult (atleast for me) and you need to learn photoshop atleast little more than basics to do so. Try autocad impressions, personally I have not used it (it is available in limited countries), but I have heard that it gives more realistic affects than acad.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    8GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    In a nutshell, I create 3D models from the client's CAD files or design sketches which I then use to produce high quality rendered images. Click on the link in my signature to view my portfolio. I'm always looking for work, so let me know if you need any custom models or renders. :)
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    8,909

    Default

    I do all of my color rendering of 2D Autocad drawings in Photoshop. It takes a bit of practice to learn how to use the various filters and layer effects to achieve the results you are looking for. I would suggest taking a class to at least learn the basics of Photoshop. It can be pretty difficult and frustrating at first.

    Also, the images you are seeing online could be 3D renderings done from Autocad, and not 2D colored images from Photoshop. Either way, these are just skills you will need to learn, so don't expect miracles overnight. These skills are learned over time and you will get better as you gain experience. Read books, take classes, download video tutorials online and practice, practice, practice.
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) --->
    http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  4. #4
    Super Member CADken's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADken's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    Toshiba Satellite A135
    CPU:
    Intel Pentium T2080 @ 1.73GHz, 1733 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
    RAM:
    Slot 1: 1GB DDR Slot 2: 1GB DDR
    Primary Storage:
    Toshiba 110GB, Maxtor External HD 120GB
    Monitor:
    Notebook Monitor + 22" NEC AccuSync LCD223wxm
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    East Coast - Pennsylvania
    Posts
    828

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cad64 View Post
    I do all of my color rendering of 2D Autocad drawings in Photoshop. It takes a bit of practice to learn how to use the various filters and layer effects to achieve the results you are looking for. I would suggest taking a class to at least learn the basics of Photoshop. It can be pretty difficult and frustrating at first.

    Also, the images you are seeing online could be 3D renderings done from Autocad, and not 2D colored images from Photoshop. Either way, these are just skills you will need to learn, so don't expect miracles overnight. These skills are learned over time and you will get better as you gain experience. Read books, take classes, download video tutorials online and practice, practice, practice.
    a lot of the renderings you see aren't created by autoCAD, yeah the drawings and line work is created in CAD, but the majority of folks out there use other programs to color and make their plans look color...

    try AutoDesk Impressions very cool program that lets you color in your CAD drawings with all kinds of different and neat brushes and effects.
    Fireman | Draftsman | Fabricator
    Running Windows 7 with AutoCAD 2010
    the Battalion East Side Pride

  5. #5
    Junior Member shellb's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Thanks for the advice. I do have photoshop and autodesk impressions so I will give both those a try. Thanks for leading me in the right direction.

    Many thanks!
    Shell


  6. #6
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Lenovo ThinkStation D20 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5503 (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    4 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro FX 580 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    500 GB HDD (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    4,904

    Default

    If it is a 2D elevation and you have Impression then yes, use it. Now for a 3D view it's hard to beat SketchUp. I have also played with the notion of using AutoCAD's SuperHatch command and gradient hatches as a way to dress up 2D elevations.

    Here is an oldie but a goodie...brick and block textures used as hatch patterens as well as gradient fills.




    and a tree image from CADTutor
    All done in AutoCAD 2004.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  7. #7
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Lenovo ThinkStation D20 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5503 (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    4 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro FX 580 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    500 GB HDD (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    4,904

    Default

    Here is another example....

    the tile off the floor is a texture while the bars were done with gradient fills to simulate stainless steel fixtures

    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  8. #8
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Lenovo ThinkStation D20 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5503 (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    4 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro FX 580 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    500 GB HDD (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    4,904

    Default

    AutoCAD elevations, modeled in SU and then exported to PhotoShop..

    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  9. #9
    Super Member Mr T's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Loch Oich SCOTLAND...
    Posts
    1,641

    Default

    The above style is possible in Autodesk Impression, without any Photoshop renders. Nice work though.

    Nick
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/80049703@N00/ http://mtbnick.fotopic.net/
    http://s240.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/dyNick_Scots/
    http://designgraphicsshowcase.blogspot.com/

    High School Classroom - 21 AutoCAD 2007, Inventor 11, COREL Draw & Paint 11. Very Unreliable Network.

    Home - AMD 2.1GHZ - 512Ram, 64 Video,
    Laptop Inventor 7, Autocad 2004, Corel 11

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Revit Architecture 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    any chance you would teach someone how to produce such nice renderings?

Similar Threads

  1. add vertex z or elevation to points
    By gvlisnas in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 4th Aug 2007, 11:14 pm
  2. Polyline elevation and LISP...
    By ramis in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 7th Jun 2007, 02:07 pm
  3. 2-d Elevation sections from a 3-D MODEL
    By muck in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30th Apr 2007, 04:02 pm
  4. 3D to 2d elevation?
    By nivradolobo in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th Mar 2007, 05:25 pm
  5. How to Calc Coordinates&elevation
    By antiwheel in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th Sep 2005, 10:35 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts