+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie Shanna's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7

    Question Making Sure Lines Are Truly Connected

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Good Morning,

    I work for a company that does custom coutertops and showers, and I use AutoCad 2006 to create the .dxf files that we use on the Saw and on our CNC machine. My problem is that the lines show up connected in my AutoCad but when they put it on the CNC it zooms in like 3 times the amount that autocad will and shows that part of the lines are not truly connected together. We had a tech. guy come yesterday and he used a different program ( InterCAD I think) and he had a command called continuity that showed if the lines where truly connected and if they weren't then it would put a symbol showing where it wasn't connected. I told the guy that I had never heard of that command in AutoCad but he said that his InterCad was a piggyback program of AutoCAD so it should have on there but I can't find it. So if anyone knows about this command or another command in AutoCad 2006 that will allow me to fix this problem I would really be greatful because right now I draw the files then take them to the guys in the shop then have to go back and get them and spend forever trying to redit them to where it will work.


    Thanks

  2. #2
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    The command you want is PLINE. That will create a polyline.

    Other than that, if you want to join a lot of LINES together. then use PEDIT, and follow the on command line prompts.

    Best of luck.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Northern Ireland ( Norn Iron )
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Welcome Shanna to the forum!

    Are you using the autosnaps?

    TOOLS - DRAFTING SETTINGS - OBJECT SNAP.

    Try using also the FILLET command for corners.
    Fillet set to 0.

    What about joining up lines into polylines?

    Maybe you know all this already and the other program does things to the AutoCAD drawing...?!


    Stephen

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie Shanna's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Problem is the CNC doesn't reconize Polylines they have to be regular lines for them to show up at all on it and yes my snaps are on and on autocad it shows that the lines are snapped to the end points or where they need to be but the CNC zooms in so much further that it shows the teeny tiny inperfections and it stops the CNC from running

  5. #5
    Super Member Hedgehog's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Hedgehog's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP sp 3
    Motherboard:
    Asus NCL-DE/1U E7520
    CPU:
    2 x Intel Xeon 7150N
    RAM:
    8 x Kingston KHX6400D2K2/4G 4 GB PC2-6400
    Graphics:
    NVidia Quadro FX 5500 1 GB Pci-X 16
    Primary Storage:
    2 x Seagte Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB HDD
    Monitor:
    ViewSonic VP2290b-2Black 22” LCD
    Using
    MEP 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Any Pub, Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    896

    Default

    I haven't heard of a prog to do this in AutoCAD but if I ever want to check an area for continuity I highlight all of the entities then go round the endpoint grips... if only one entity stretches where 2 or more should intersect then I know that they don't meet properly
    Only the lonely only ... PhotoGallery / Music

  6. #6
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    ????????? ..... what the?????

  7. #7
    Forum Deity
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    2,074

    Default

    You could use the Pedit>>Multiple command to join all your lines/arcs to polylines. If they don't join you'll know you have gaps. Then use a "fuzz distance" (gap tolerance) large enough that causes them to join. Your gaps will then be fixed. Now use "explode" command to turn polylines back to arc & line segments.

    Command sequence will look something like this:

    Command: pedit
    Select polyline or [Multiple]: m
    Select objects: Specify opposite corner: 3 found
    Select objects:<return>
    Enter an option [Close/Open/Join/Width/Fit/Spline/Decurve/Ltype gen/Undo]: j
    Join Type = Extend
    Enter fuzz distance or [Jointype] <0.1000>: 1
    2 segments added to polyline
    Enter an option [Close/Open/Join/Width/Fit/Spline/Decurve/Ltype gen/Undo]:

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie Shanna's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7

    Idea

    Thanks
    I really didn't think about that but I could try turning them into polylines and then just exploding them back to lines. I'll let you all know if it works.

    thanks

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie Shanna's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    It didn't work it still showed up as having broken lines when I turn them into polylines and then explode them

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Strix's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    3,081

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm fascinated by the concept of unjoined lines in AutoCAD

    how the heck does that happen at all?

    you say you're drawing with endsnaps etc?


    assuming what you're saying is true, would FILLET not sort that out?
    or EXTEND?


    can you tell us how far out your lines are falling from each other?

    you don't have something daft set like a grid snap do you?
    Find your new best friend at Rain Rescue

    If you are a good drafter, tech will help. If you are a bad drafter, nothing will help. - Jack_O'neill at CADTutor

Similar Threads

  1. Having objects "stay connected" when moved
    By Siberian in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9th Jun 2007, 06:58 pm
  2. making center lines meet cleanly
    By the ber in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21st Feb 2007, 08:14 pm
  3. What should I be making /hr?
    By ChadPoehland in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th Jan 2007, 07:12 pm
  4. dotted lines plotting as solid lines
    By Dave^ in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th Jan 2006, 01:16 pm
  5. Making a new .pgp
    By myk26 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25th Jun 2004, 05:51 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts