+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default linetype scale in Model Space/Paper Space

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,
    I'm curious. I use 1:1 scale when drawing in model space. Normally it's a big architecture plan or some construction. When I use different linetype like dash or centre, the linetype scale is to small for my drawing thus not displayed as it should. So I change the linetype scale to make it show its true physical look. My problem happen when i want to plot the drawing. After scaling the drawing in paper space to fit the paper, I need to rescale the linetype once again to make it plot perfectly. if not, then my dash or centre line will be a solid line or missing.

    Is there any way to do this properly?

  2. #2
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    In MS set ltscale to 1. In PS set ltscale to suit the intended plot scale. Also set PSLTSCALE to suit (I always set it to 1). If you want to set ltscale to suit in MS so the lines look correct, just remember to set it back to 1 before you plot.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    50

    Default

    My suggestion like Alan mentioned about setting your PSLTSCALE, I always set my PSLTSCALE to "0". The reason to this is because what I see in MS is what I will get once its plotted out. You don't have to worry about setting your ltscale.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity NBC's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    2,109

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gofindsam View Post
    My suggestion like Alan mentioned about setting your PSLTSCALE, I always set my PSLTSCALE to "0". The reason to this is because what I see in MS is what I will get once its plotted out. You don't have to worry about setting your ltscale.
    What happens when you have more than 1 differently scaled viewport on a layout ?

  5. #5
    Super Member Hedgehog's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Hedgehog's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP sp 3
    Motherboard:
    Asus NCL-DE/1U E7520
    CPU:
    2 x Intel Xeon 7150N
    RAM:
    8 x Kingston KHX6400D2K2/4G 4 GB PC2-6400
    Graphics:
    NVidia Quadro FX 5500 1 GB Pci-X 16
    Primary Storage:
    2 x Seagte Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB HDD
    Monitor:
    ViewSonic VP2290b-2Black 22” LCD
    Using
    MEP 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Any Pub, Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    896

    Default

    There are pro's & con's to both methods described & I use both depending on the drawing... the important thing is to understand what it's doing & why to make a judgement on how you want to approach it.

    Basically I always have the LTScale set to around 25 to 50 while I'm working in model space... if I have no linetypes to generate in Paperspace I'll usually leave it at the scale the viewport is zoomed to (eg 50) & set the PSLTscale to 0, however if I have other differently scaled viewports or a legend with linetypes in it I'll switch PSLTscale on & set the LTScale to 1 for plotting.
    Only the lonely only ... PhotoGallery / Music

  6. #6
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,135

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Try using a different LineType, such as HIDDENX2 instead of HIDDEN.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



Similar Threads

  1. LTSCALE - Model Space/Paper Space Differences and problems
    By Fedge in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2011, 02:33 pm
  2. Model Space to Paper Space and vise versa
    By J-LYLE in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th Sep 2011, 08:14 am
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd Jan 2007, 10:20 pm
  4. Convert Paper Space to Model Space
    By irelandmc in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th Nov 2006, 03:16 pm
  5. shortcut to toggle model space to paper space
    By edwin in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Feb 2006, 05:58 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts