Title Block

jc1981

How do I add a title block or even create one to an existing drawing? I have no experience with title blocking at all. I am thinking there is an easier way then drawing the lines each time and how big do I make it etc???

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• jc1981

• Strix

• Jillymaxo

• ReMark

What size is the drawing?

You could "borrow" a title block from one of the drawing templates included with AutoCAD or you could design your own.

If you design your own the information required to fill it in could be done via attributes. But that's a whole other story.

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh...drawing to scale, like you would on a drafting board, right? The title block dimensions will have to be scaled by a factor of 48 (1/4x12).

Example:

A titleblock that would measure, after plotting, 5.375 by 3 would actually be 21'-6 x 12'-0" inside your drawing. Got it?

Advice:

Put the object you're drawing in model space and put the title block and border in paper space (now refered to as a Layout). Draw everyhting full size. Use a Viewport in paperspace to see your object and scale the viewport not the object. There are tutorials on this site that can walk you through the process.

ill look at the templates where are they? I just am wondering too if there are certain requirements of a title block or can you do whatever you want?

If your company doesn't have standards already, you have pretty much a free rein

make sure you've got

• your company
  • your drawing number
  • your drawing title (usually 4 lines and make sure you have plenty of room for it)
  • Date Drafted
  • Who drafted it
  • client name
  • revision number and date

did I miss anything?

editable attributes is the best way to ensure your box lines don't wander, your text in a drawing set matches up, your drawing title has a continuous format etc, and just looks SOOOOOOO much more professional - especially if you do a second job for the same client :wink: