+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    104

    Default Editing Attributes at once in multiple layouts

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I need to change a date on the titleblock in about 15 different layouts in the same dwg. However, there are additional layouts that do not need the date changed. The date that needs changing is in attribute form in in the "titleblock" block.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,041

    Default

    Try the "Find" command.

    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  3. #3
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    canada, eh!
    Posts
    607

    Default

    also make sure you click on options and only have the check box for block attribute value only...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    104

    Default

    alright now what if the particular attribute is empty, such that I have nothing to "find"?

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    canada, eh!
    Posts
    607

    Default

    then you'll have to do it the hard way...type it in...

  6. #6
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    5,275

    Default

    You could search for all the title block of a partivcular name in the drawing and change the one Attribute that would be easy but it would change every single one.

    To change one and not another on a different sheet would require a lot more code.

    here is an example of what you want
    Public Sub issued_for_construction()
    ' This Updates the Issued for construction and sets rev 0

    Dim SS As AcadSelectionSet

    Dim Count As Integer
    Dim FilterDXFCode(1) As Integer
    Dim FilterDXFVal(1) As Variant
    Dim attribs As Variant
    Dim BLOCK_NAME As String

    On Error Resume Next

    FilterDXFCode(0) = 0
    FilterDXFVal(0) = "INSERT"
    FilterDXFCode(1) = 2
    FilterDXFVal(1) = "DA1DRTXT"

    BLOCK_NAME = "DA1DRTXT"

    Set SS = ThisDrawing.SelectionSets.Add("issued")
    SS.Select acSelectionSetAll, , , FilterDXFCode, FilterDXFVal


    For Cntr = 0 To SS.Count - 1

    attribs = SS.Item(Cntr).GetAttributes


    attribs(0).TextString = "ISSUED FOR CONSTRUCTION"
    attribs(3).TextString = "0"

    attribs(0).Update
    attribs(3).Update

    Next Cntr
    ThisDrawing.SelectionSets.Item("issued").Delete

  7. #7
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,041

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lucid View Post
    alright now what if the particular attribute is empty, such that I have nothing to "find"?

    Well you did say "change" the text of an attribute and not enter text in an attribute.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  8. #8
    Super Member Raggi_Thor's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Trondheim, NORWAY
    Posts
    718

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    -ATTEDIT
    Edit one at a time? NO
    TAG? Your tag
    Value? New value
    Mvh, Kvedja, Kind Regards,
    Ragnar Thor Mikkelsen
    http://www.DESIGNDATA.no/English.htm

Similar Threads

  1. Editing Attributes
    By CAD-e-Corner in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th Aug 2007, 12:29 pm
  2. Good Question: Single vs. Multiple Layouts
    By AutoCAD Insider in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th Jul 2007, 08:40 pm
  3. A question about editing block attributes
    By alijahed in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th May 2007, 06:02 am
  4. Plotting Multiple Layouts at one time
    By juve in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st Mar 2007, 06:57 pm
  5. MView and multiple layouts
    By powerman in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th Nov 2004, 08:23 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts