+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    42

    Default Moving from model to paper space

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,

    Cannt beleive I cannt find the answer in the help books I have, but I cannt!

    I have, in my model space, 6 layouts, all showing different floors and services.

    What I want to do is select one of the models and make a new paper space at A4 size. I can do it, but all of the layouts on the model space appeas on the paper space.

    Thanks,

    Simon.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,802

    Default

    Select a scale for your viewport then use Pan to position the model. Once that is done, if need be, you can always tweak the size of the viewport. Also, you may want to lock the viewport as well.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Sorry, but could I get a bit more detail, I am very new at all this.

    Thanks,

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    After you've created the new Layout, add Viewports (MVIEW). To activate the viewport, doubleclick inside the viewport and then you can Pan and Zoom. Doubleclick outside the Viewport to de-activate it. Set a scale to the viewport via the toolbar Viewports (click on the viewport and type in a scale in the box)

    You lock the viewport via MView as well.
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    In a nutshell, I create 3D models from the client's CAD files or design sketches which I then use to produce high quality rendered images. Click on the link in my signature to view my portfolio. I'm always looking for work, so let me know if you need any custom models or renders. :)
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,019
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) --->
    http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thank you, I can now do what I need to.

Similar Threads

  1. LTSCALE - Model Space/Paper Space Differences and problems
    By Fedge in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2011, 02:33 pm
  2. Model Space to Paper Space and vise versa
    By J-LYLE in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th Sep 2011, 08:14 am
  3. linetype scale in Model Space/Paper Space
    By delangorgon in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd Oct 2007, 04:55 pm
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd Jan 2007, 10:20 pm
  5. shortcut to toggle model space to paper space
    By edwin in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Feb 2006, 05:58 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts