+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member DP-MWS's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2006
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    14

    Default [solved]Attributes in Title Block, specifically for revision #

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello.
    I'm new to the forum world and I've been scanning all of the useful information listed.
    But, I'm having trouble finding anything on how to manage attributes when it comes to adding revisions to a drawing.
    The title block I use is fairly basic: Customer name, Title of the drawing, drawing number, date, drawn by, scale, and the revision #. Next to this information is a space to record information when a revision is made: who made the revision, a description of the revision and the date.
    What I'm trying to do is set up the title block so that all the information is added when the block is inserted - that works fine. What doesn't seem to be working the way I want is the revisions. How do I set it up so that, after the title block has been inserted, revision information can be added? If I create attributes for every revision line available (9 in this case), I end up with the revision block showing the Tag, Prompt, and Default information.
    I've attached a drawing showing what I'm trying to accomplish.
    Any help you can offer is appreciated.

    Thanks.

    Debb
    Attached Files
    Last edited by DP-MWS; 30th Oct 2007 at 03:23 pm.

  2. #2
    Super Member GE13579's Avatar
    Computer Details
    GE13579's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Fujitso Siemens
    RAM:
    3.4Ghz
    Monitor:
    Samsung 19" TFT
    Using
    Mechanical 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,454

    Default

    Not ideal, but if you use ATTEDIT instead of double clicking I think this brings up the dialogue box you require?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Using
    Architectural DT 2008
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    119

    Default default dosen't need a value

    try this file

    I think what you want to do is have no value in the default
    tag could be beter identified for those filling out the form
    promtp is where you put the description.

    this will defauld to empty spaces that can be filled out later.
    Attached Files
    You never want to shoot yourself in the foot, Especially when it's in your mouth.

  4. #4
    Junior Member DP-MWS's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2006
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    14

    Smile Thank you!

    Thank you for your help.
    halfcracked, that was exactly what I was looking for.

  5. #5
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    DP-MWS,

    If you are now happy about the response you got, how about now editing your main title for this thread to [solved] Attributes in Title Block, specifically for revision #.

    That way future people who come here will know this thread has been satisfactorally resolved, and can come straight here for an answer.

  6. #6
    Junior Member DP-MWS's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2006
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    14

    Question Adding Solved to Thread title

    I'd be happy to edit the main title for this thread.
    But, I don't know how to do that. Could you give me instructions?

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    As far as I am aware, you go back to your first post on this thread, then go EDIT, then go advanced, and change it there. This has only come up in the last couple of days, so I watch with interest to see you do it. You will go down in history as the first person to ever do what we hope will become the norm. So go for it, mate.

  8. #8
    Junior Member DP-MWS's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2006
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    14

    Wink Success!!

    That worked - bragging rights for the day!

  9. #9
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    Not quite, you haven't changed the main title of the thread. Hang on, I've seen a problem here. I'll grab a mod to sort this out.

  10. #10
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hopefully I got hold of a really good mod. He'll sort it out for us, and you will go down in history.

Similar Threads

  1. Title Block and .dwt
    By edgley in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th Oct 2007, 11:01 pm
  2. Adding Attributes to exsisting title blocks.
    By phillion in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th Mar 2007, 03:57 pm
  3. Getting Attributes for one block reference w/many block inserts?
    By muck in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th Oct 2006, 03:38 am
  4. Title Block
    By Cadgirl10 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th Jun 2006, 02:53 pm
  5. Title blocks & attributes
    By Cutter in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd Mar 2006, 10:49 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts