+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    grzitln
    Guest

    Default Retreiving a *.ac$ Autosaved drawing and convert it to *.dwg

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    We had a computer store upgrade our hardrive, and we seem to have lost a drawing. I have found a Autosave file (*.ac$) that might be the file I need.

    HOW can I convert the autosave to a current *.DWG?????

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,076

    Default Re: Retreiving a *.ac$ Autosaved drawing and convert it to *

    Quote Originally Posted by grzitln
    We had a computer store upgrade our hardrive, and we seem to have lost a drawing. I have found a Autosave file (*.ac$) that might be the file I need.

    HOW can I convert the autosave to a current *.DWG?????

    Thanks in advance.
    Change the file name extension from .ac$ to .dwg. That's all there is to it.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  3. #3
    Super Member
    Using
    Architectural DT 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,087

    Default

    There is a chance however that you may not have acompletely up to date drawing though from using an autosave file.Depends when it last autosaved.Just a thought,would be annoying to issue a incomplete drawing that you thought was complete.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,076

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hyposmurf
    There is a chance however that you may not have acompletely up to date drawing though from using an autosave file.Depends when it last autosaved.Just a thought,would be annoying to issue a incomplete drawing that you thought was complete.
    True, it might not be complete but better than starting over One reason I have my autosave set for 15 minutes. I also set a custom folder so I know exactly where it is.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  5. #5
    grzitln
    Guest

    Default Re: Retreiving a *.ac$ Autosaved drawing and convert it to *

    Quote Originally Posted by f700es
    Quote Originally Posted by grzitln
    We had a computer store upgrade our hardrive, and we seem to have lost a drawing. I have found a Autosave file (*.ac$) that might be the file I need.

    HOW can I convert the autosave to a current *.DWG?????

    Thanks in advance.
    Change the file name extension from .ac$ to .dwg. That's all there is to it.
    I have tried this thru Explorer, but it does not work.

    This works for a *.BAK file, but not for a *.AC$ file.


  6. #6
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,076

    Default

    Correction on my part the file extension .ac$ is a temporary file. I do not believe that you can open/rename this. I am testing this right now to see what my r2005 auto saves in.

    Edit: Well I just tried it and it worked here. I opened up the folder where my autosaves are stored and renamed the file to a .dwg and it opened.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  7. #7
    Super Member Mr T's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Loch Oich SCOTLAND...
    Posts
    1,641

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f700es
    Correction on my part the file extension .ac$ is a temporary file. I do not believe that you can open/rename this. I am testing this right now to see what my r2005 auto saves in.
    I think it's alsodown to what the Incremental save is eg changes.

    Nick
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/80049703@N00/ http://mtbnick.fotopic.net/
    http://s240.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/dyNick_Scots/
    http://designgraphicsshowcase.blogspot.com/

    High School Classroom - 21 AutoCAD 2007, Inventor 11, COREL Draw & Paint 11. Very Unreliable Network.

    Home - AMD 2.1GHZ - 512Ram, 64 Video,
    Laptop Inventor 7, Autocad 2004, Corel 11

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Using
    Architectural DT 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,087

    Default

    imcremental save percentage
    Had mine set to 100 Im now thinking I shouldve had it set to 0.

  9. #9
    Pringals
    Guest

    Default Re: Retreiving a *.ac$ Autosaved drawing and convert it to *

    Quote Originally Posted by grzitln
    Quote Originally Posted by f700es
    Quote Originally Posted by grzitln
    We had a computer store upgrade our hardrive, and we seem to have lost a drawing. I have found a Autosave file (*.ac$) that might be the file I need.

    HOW can I convert the autosave to a current *.DWG?????

    Thanks in advance.
    Change the file name extension from .ac$ to .dwg. That's all there is to it.
    I have tried this thru Explorer, but it does not work.

    This works for a *.BAK file, but not for a *.AC$ file.

    You may have your explorer set up preventing you from renaming an extension. Open IE, go to tools, folder options, view. Under Hidden files and folders, uncheck the box next to "Hide extensions for known file types". Now you should be able to rename a file and its extension.

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Sounds good but

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Pringals View Post
    You may have your explorer set up preventing you from renaming an extension. Open IE, go to tools, folder options, view. Under Hidden files and folders, uncheck the box next to "Hide extensions for known file types". Now you should be able to rename a file and its extension.

    I have done this and still can change the extention but I can't open "drawing not valid" I even tried changing the name of the file and still won't open.

    Thanks

    Rob

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts