+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default Planned move and maintenance

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Advanced Warning

    Sometime in the next few weeks, the forum will be down for a few days while I move it to a new host, implement some domain name changes and perform some mainenance tasks.

    Before the move, I aim to streamline the forum database a little to make the transfer a bit easier. So, I will be deleting all users who have never posted and who haven't visited in the last 6 months or so. It would also help greatly if everyone could make sure that they clear their private message inboxes of unwanted messages.

    The forum will essentially become an integral part of the main CADTutor.net site and this will allow me to implement some great new features such as a gallery where forum members can show their work.

    I will be posting more details shortly.

    Thanks for your help.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Using
    Architectural DT 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,087

    Default

    That sounds interesting the new gallery.Ive noticed that the forum has been down a few times recently?Was that anything to do with your current web host?

  3. #3
    Super Member gcp310's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    physicaly - Australia, mentaly - Another Planet
    Posts
    696

    Default

    So its going to look similar to the CGarchitec website?

    my only concern is that i have no problems accessing the forum,but i cant get the cadtutor site here at work. it has something to do with our firewall,but i cant investigate without drawing attention to myself.

    oh well, i will have to wait till i get home to check the forum.

    The change sounds great, Looking forward to the new features.

    G

  4. #4
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gcp310
    my only concern is that i have no problems accessing the forum,but i cant get the cadtutor site here at work. it has something to do with our firewall,but i cant investigate without drawing attention to myself.
    Do you mean that you can view www.cadtutorforum.net but not www.cadtutor.net ? That sounds a bit weird. Is CADTutor on a blacklist?

    And yes, the new gallery will be similar to the gallery at CGArchitect.com - except much better
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  5. #5
    Super Member gcp310's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    physicaly - Australia, mentaly - Another Planet
    Posts
    696

    Default

    no, i dont think so. some websites come up and others dont.

    its like the router/firewall is selective of what it lets in.

    Anyway, not a problem.

    G

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Using
    Architectural DT 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,087

    Default

    I have similar problems with my work firewall.It behaves in a weird way.The firewall will block me and then block me again,I'll keep clicking and eventually access the page.Not how a firewall should work I know,but our IT set up is awful.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 10 (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,571

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gcp310
    no, i dont think so. some websites come up and others dont.

    its like the router/firewall is selective of what it lets in.

    Anyway, not a problem.

    G
    I have that problem too G. Some "forums" get through and some don't. They are supposed to block all message boards but I get through to a few.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  8. #8
    Super Member
    Using
    Architectural DT 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,087

    Default

    Why block message boards, there an exchange of information, if its work related they are usually a bonus to company.I could understand porn sites being blocked.I still am bemused by our firewall,I simply enter an engineering component like for instance a nipple or flange in my search and the firewall wont me let me in .Gets frustrating after a while as many of our engineering terms have another conetation.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 10 (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,571

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hyposmurf
    Why block message boards, there an exchange of information, if its work related they are usually a bonus to company.I could understand porn sites being blocked.I still am bemused by our firewall,I simply enter an engineering component like for instance a nipple or flange in my search and the firewall wont me let me in .Gets frustrating after a while as many of our engineering terms have another conetation.
    Well, some message boards are not work related so they try to block them all Paranoid I guess.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  10. #10
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    We are moving in the next few days - hold on to your hats!

    I expect that the work will take at least a day and maybe 2.

    If you're not sure how to find the forum after the move, go to the main CADTutor site at www.CADTutor.net and click on the forum link. I will update those links once the forum is up-and-running.

    See you there.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts