+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Electrical 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default Changing the size of components

    I am new to Autocad Electrical 2008 and I am having trouble with the size of the components. When I try to insert a component it comes in too big. How do I change the size?

    Thanks
    Gordon

  2. #2
    Super Member GE13579's Avatar
    Computer Details
    GE13579's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Fujitso Siemens
    RAM:
    3.4Ghz
    Monitor:
    Samsung 19" TFT
    Using
    Mechanical 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,454

    Default

    Just select it and SCALE to suit.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    4,922

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Also, check this out - it could be the reason. (from the New FAQ )

    Why do my blocks come in the wrong size? [beta]


    This problem arises from incompatibility between drawing units set in the drawing used to create the original block (the
    source drawing) and the drawing the block is imported into (the target drawing).
    When a block is imported into a target drawing, AutoCAD automatically scales the block to fit the target drawing. The scale factor used is calculated as a ratio between the drawing units set in both thesource drawing and the target drawing. If the drawings units are set incorrectly in either drawing, then the AutoCAD calculated scaling factor will be incorrect. As a result, the block will insert at the wrong size.
    Drawing units are controlled by the variable INSUNITS. This variable must to be set in both the source drawing and the target drawing. There are 21 available values for this variable:



    0 = Unitless 7 = Kilometers 14 = Microns 1 = Inches 8 = Microinches 15 = Dekameters 2 = Feet 9 = Mils 16 = Hectometers 3 = Miles 10 = Yards 17 = Gigameters 4 = Millimeters 11 = Angstroms 18 = Astronomical Units 5 = Centimeters 12 = Nanometers 19 = Light Years 6 = Meters 13 = Microns 20 = Parsecs
    This variable can also be set by selecting Format > Units > Insertion Scale and choosing a unit from the list.

    The easiest way to ensure insertion scales do not conflict, is to draw all drawings using the same units, and have INSUNITS
    set to 0. This ensures that no scaling occurs and the blocks are inserted at the correct size.
    If it is not possible to changeINSUNITS in the source drawing, there are two more variables that affect the insertion scale of blocks. These variables are both set in the target drawing and they only function if INSUNITS is set to 0.

    1. INSUNITSDEFSOURCE defines what unit the source drawing (the block) is drawn in. The available settings are the same as for INSUNITS.



    2.INSUNITSDEFTARGET temporarily assigns a drawing unit to the target drawing. This only affects scaling of the block and not the target drawing as a whole. The available settings are the same as for INSUNITS.
    Last edited by Tiger; 2nd Nov 2007 at 03:03 pm. Reason: formatting issues...
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

Similar Threads

  1. set sheets changing paper size
    By comcu in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th Jun 2007, 01:58 pm
  2. Changing scales size?
    By jodajen2 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Sep 2006, 02:48 am
  3. How to create custom Objects | Components
    By Rishabh.Ghia in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Oct 2005, 01:44 pm
  4. changing dimension size on the fly
    By wero in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Jun 2005, 11:50 pm
  5. Free Sketchup components
    By hyposmurf in forum SketchUp
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st Mar 2005, 04:07 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts