+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Edit Scale List

  1. #1
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default Edit Scale List

    Acad 2008. Does anyone know how to delete scales from the list Tools > Options > User Preferences > Edit Scale List ? I know how to pick them and delete them, but I want them to STAY deleted.

    With me, they all keep coming back the next day. There are soooo many of them, and we only use 10-15 set scales, so that is all I want showing up in the list. At the moment it takes forever to find the required scale amoung the millions that currently exist in that list.

  2. #2
    Super Member riga's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    723

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alan Cullen View Post
    Acad 2008. Does anyone know how to delete scales from the list Tools > Options > User Preferences > Edit Scale List ? I know how to pick them and delete them, but I want them to STAY deleted.

    With me, they all keep coming back the next day. There are soooo many of them, and we only use 10-15 set scales, so that is all I want showing up in the list. At the moment it takes forever to find the required scale amoung the millions that currently exist in that list.
    I have found right now a way to do that on my 2007 version:

    From Windows start > Run > regedit

    search for

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Autodesk\AutoCAD\R17.0\ ACAD-5001:409\Scale List

    Preset scales are listed with 3 value, like this example (for 1:40):

    7. ScaleName REG-SZ 1:40
    7. ScaleNumber REG-SZ 1.0000000
    7.ScalePerUnits REG-SZ 40.0000000

    Delete all 3 values, close regedit and restart your machine.
    Next start of Autocad scale 1:40 is gone

    Don't know the path for other versions because it will be probably different

    Let me know if it helps
    HAVE A NICE DAY

  3. #3
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    Thanks Riga, that looks interesting. I'll try it out on my work computer tomorrow. If I have time tonight, I'll also try it here at home.

    I had heard that those scales are retained in the drawing, and if they are deleted in the template file, that would help a lot. But I haven't seen that yet.

  4. #4
    Super Member riga's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    723

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alan Cullen View Post
    Thanks Riga, that looks interesting. I'll try it out on my work computer tomorrow. If I have time tonight, I'll also try it here at home.

    I had heard that those scales are retained in the drawing, and if they are deleted in the template file, that would help a lot. But I haven't seen that yet.
    That's true. If you edit your scale list it will be saved in the drawing.
    However you can always restore the original list:

    Options > User Preferences > Edit scales list > Reset

    With the procedure I exposed above you are going to modify the scales list that will be restored.
    Edit scales list of templates seems a good idea

    BTW: as I know that a lot of you have Autocad 2008 I've asked a friends who work with that version and he said to me he can not find the scale list in the regitry
    HAVE A NICE DAY

  5. #5
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    Yeah, maybe there is a difference here between 2007 and 2008, and the way they handle this issue. I have 2007 at home, and 2008 at work. I remember I never had this problem with 2007 at work. But I do now with 2008.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    8GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    In a nutshell, I create 3D models from the client's CAD files or design sketches which I then use to produce high quality rendered images. Click on the link in my signature to view my portfolio. I'm always looking for work, so let me know if you need any custom models or renders. :)
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    8,911

    Default

    In 2008, the scale list drives the annotation scaling. See here for more info: http://discussion.autodesk.com/threa...sageID=5513146
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) --->
    http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  7. #7
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    Thanks, Cad64,

    That just answered what I already suspected. I didn't realise that it was tied to associative scaling in 2008. But there you go. I'll look into that lisp and find out if it helps. In the meantime, many problems, and unwarranted hard work and repetitive resets with the scaling list. You would really think that AutoDesk would have thought this through a bit better. If it aint broke, don't fix it. Buggars.

    Anyway, cheers, mate, and thanks for the input.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity NBC's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    2,109

    Default

    Obviously the tutorial i did for you Alan was pants, as i tried to pin down this scalelist to annotative scaling

  9. #9
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    ah, I missed that part, or did I? So you are saying it can be done?

  10. #10
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Blue, the whole issue of scale list, is that it is kept per drawing. set it up in one drawing and it remains there. It doesn't work the same way it did in 2007. That is the pain. And it is all because (from what I gather) of annotative scaling. But that does not solve the problem from drawing to drawing.

Similar Threads

  1. Scaling linetype scale with SCALE command?
    By SpeedDemon in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2007, 03:28 pm
  2. Viewpor Scale Edit
    By Simple153 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th Jul 2007, 12:55 pm
  3. Scale List Edit
    By CAD-e-Corner in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd Oct 2006, 05:50 pm
  4. Create custom scale drop down list
    By nlao in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th Apr 2005, 03:15 pm
  5. Custom Scale - Drop down list
    By fade2blackened in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th Mar 2005, 04:14 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts