+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Dimensions

  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default Dimensions

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    My dimensions have all changed and i'm not sure how to alter them back. All lines I draw are very small and when trying to figure out areas I end up with a huge measurement. Not sure what I've done or how to change it

  2. #2
    Super Member GE13579's Avatar
    Computer Details
    GE13579's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Fujitso Siemens
    RAM:
    3.4Ghz
    Monitor:
    Samsung 19" TFT
    Using
    Mechanical 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,454

    Default

    type D <enter> for dimension style manager.

  3. #3
    Super Member GE13579's Avatar
    Computer Details
    GE13579's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Fujitso Siemens
    RAM:
    3.4Ghz
    Monitor:
    Samsung 19" TFT
    Using
    Mechanical 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,454

    Default

    For area are you using LIST or AREA?

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I'm using AREA. Would LIST be better?

  5. #5
    Super Member GE13579's Avatar
    Computer Details
    GE13579's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Fujitso Siemens
    RAM:
    3.4Ghz
    Monitor:
    Samsung 19" TFT
    Using
    Mechanical 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,454

    Default

    I don't know exactly what you're after... can you post your drawing?

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I cant upload it - the files are too big. But basically I am putting rooms into a building layout and need to measure the area of each room. I am currently using the AREA command and it comes up with 7 or 8 digit areas which isnt right. So I was assuming that there was some problem with my dimensions.

  7. #7
    Senior Member James's Avatar
    Using
    Revit 2009
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    357

    Default

    this is normal, im unsure in acad where the option is to edit the area units to say m2 rather than the huge number it comes out with.
    10100.co.uk ONC/HNC Building Studies :: FCAD32 :: AutoCAD 2009 :: Revit 2009 :: Architectural Technician A.C.I.A.T ::

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    How can you figure out the m2 from the huge number?

  9. #9
    Super Member GE13579's Avatar
    Computer Details
    GE13579's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Fujitso Siemens
    RAM:
    3.4Ghz
    Monitor:
    Samsung 19" TFT
    Using
    Mechanical 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,454

    Default

    1m² = 10,000cm² = 1,000,000mm²

    (sorry about the commas following recent posts, but they're just 000 separators in this instance )

    Therefore /1000000 if your units are in mm.

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thank you!

Similar Threads

  1. Dimensions
    By Littlemouse in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 20th Sep 2007, 12:12 am
  2. Dimensions????
    By Dean07 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th Aug 2006, 12:50 am
  3. dimensions in cm
    By sentinel in forum SketchUp
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th Jul 2006, 08:07 pm
  4. dimensions
    By sentinel in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th Jul 2006, 05:12 pm
  5. Dimensions again!
    By johnnybond in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th Sep 2005, 08:59 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts