Poll: Was this, is this useful ?

Be advised that this is a public poll: other users can see the choice(s) you selected.

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 3D FAQ

  1. #1
    Super Member Mr T's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Loch Oich SCOTLAND...
    Posts
    1,641

    Default 3D FAQ

    Please read this first, yes it is long .
    I need to fix the formating

    AutoCAD 2000 3D FAQ

    This FAQ answers the following questions:

    Q1: How do I speed up 3D redraws in SHADEMODE and 3DORBIT?
    Q2: Why does the model change from shaded to wireframe to boxes while I
    manipulate the view in 3DORBIT?
    Q3: How do I set the center of rotation for 3DORBIT?
    Q4: Do I need to download a Heidi driver for my card to enable 3D hardware
    accleration?
    Q5: Which video cards are capable of hardware accelerated 3D in AutoCAD 2000?
    Q6: Why do my objects disappear when I enable materials?

    ------------------------------------------------------------- ------------------
    -
    Q1: How do I speed up 3D redraws in SHADEMODE and 3DORBIT?

    1. Enable 3D hardware acceleration. Installing a video card with robust
    hardware-acclerated OpenGL 1.1 support will dramatically increase 3D
    performance. If you do have one, enable hardware acceleration through
    Tools->Options->System->Current 3D Graphics
    Display->Properties->Acceleration->Hardware, and select "wopengl6.hdi".
    2. Set the DISPSILH sysvar to 0.
    3. Turn off dynamic tessellation through Tools->Options->System->Current 3D
    Graphics Display->Properties->Dynamic Tessellation.
    4. Select only those entities you wish to view before invoking 3DORBIT.
    3DORBIT will only display what you selected. If you do not select any
    entities, 3DORBIT will display the entire model.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------- --------------
    -
    Q2: Why does the model change from shaded to wireframe to boxes while I
    manipulate the view in 3DORBIT?

    3DORBIT will maintain a minimum frame rate by drawing the model as a wireframe
    or bounding boxes, if necessary, while you are manipulating the view.

    You can turn this off through Tools->Options->System->Current 3D Graphics
    Display->Properties->Adaptive Degradation. Uncheck Wireframe and Bounding Box,
    and set Maintain Speed to 1 FPS.

    Alternatively, you can use Continuous Orbit (3DCORBIT), which never uses
    Adaptive Degradation.

    ----------------------------------------------------------- --------------------
    -
    Q3: How do I set the center of rotation for 3DORBIT?

    There are three ways to set the center of rotation for use with the 3DORBIT
    command, depending on what you want to rotate about:

    1. If you want to rotate about the MODEL CENTER, invoke 3DORBIT, then select
    More->Zoom Extents from the right-click menu.
    2. If you want to rotate about an ENTITY or ENTITY SET, select the entity or
    entities, invoke 3DORBIT, then select More->Zoom Extents from the right-click
    menu. At this point, you can orbit about your selected entity or entity set.
    To view the entire model while orbiting about the selected entity or entities,
    exit then re-enter 3DORBIT.
    3. If you want to rotate about a POINT, invoke CAMERA, accept the default
    position, and then type or select the target point (using OSNAP can be handy
    here). Then invoke 3DORBIT.

    --------------------------------------------------------------- ----------------
    -
    Q4: Do I need to download a Heidi driver for my card to enable 3D hardware
    accleration?

    You do not need to download any Heidi driver to enable 3D hardware acceleration
    in AutoCAD 2000. As long as you have a video card with robust
    hardware-acclerated OpenGL support, and you have 3D hardware accleration
    enabled, you will be ready to go.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------- -----------
    -
    Q5: Which video cards are capable of hardware accelerated 3D in AutoCAD 2000?

    While we can't make any specific card recommendations, we can say that a robust
    OpenGL driver is required. Specifically, the card should include an OpenGL 1.1
    ICD (Installable Client Driver). Some cards will mention OpenGL support
    through an MCD, MiniGL, or QuakeGL. These cards are generally not capable of
    providing hardware accelerated 3D in AutoCAD 2000.

    Video card manufacturers often update their OpenGL drivers with bug fixes and
    performance enhancements. If you are having trouble which seems video-related,
    visit your card manufacturer's website for their latest OpenGL drivers. If
    you are still having trouble, post to this newsgroup and we'll try to help.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------ -------------
    -
    Q6: Why do my objects disappear when I enable materials?

    3DORBIT and SHADEMODE support material colors, but not material textures (this
    includes bitmaps, bumpmaps, and the 3d textures granite, marble and wood).
    Many materials with textures have underlying black colors, causing the object
    to be drawn in black and seemingly disappear. You can fix this through the
    RMAT command: select the material in question, choose Modify, then set
    Color/Pattern, Ambient, and Reflection to a lighter color.




    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Reply From: [Autodesk], Erik Larsen
    Date: Jul/14/99 - 20:58 (GMT)

    Re: AutoCAD 2000 3D FAQ
    AutoCAD 2000 3D FAQ
    June-July 1999

    This FAQ answers the following questions:

    Q1: How do I speed up 3D redraws in SHADEMODE and 3DORBIT?
    Q2: Why does the model change from shaded to wireframe to boxes while I
    manipulate the view in 3DORBIT?
    Q3: How do I set the center of rotation for 3DORBIT?
    Q4: Do I need to download a Heidi driver for my card to enable 3D hardware
    accleration?
    Q5: Which video cards are capable of hardware accelerated 3D in AutoCAD 2000?
    *Q6: Why is my 3D video card unable to accelerate 3D at 1600x1200 resolution?
    *Q7: How can I make hidden lines display more accurately in hardware
    acceleration mode?
    Q8: Why do my objects disappear when I enable materials?
    *Q9: Why does my drawing become dark when I enable materials?

    *New this release.

    --------------------------------------------------------------- ----------------
    -
    Q1: How do I speed up 3D redraws in SHADEMODE and 3DORBIT?

    1. Enable 3D hardware acceleration. Installing a video card with robust
    hardware-acclerated OpenGL 1.1 support will dramatically increase 3D
    performance. If you have a video card with this capability, you can enable
    hardware acceleration through Tools->Options->System->Current 3D Graphics
    Display->Properties->Acceleration->Hardware, and select "wopengl6.hdi".
    2. Set the DISPSILH sysvar to 0.
    3. Turn off dynamic tessellation through Tools->Options->System->Current 3D
    Graphics Display->Properties->Dynamic Tessellation.
    4. Select only those entities you wish to view before invoking 3DORBIT.
    3DORBIT will only display what you selected. If you do not select any entities
    before invoking 3DORBIT, 3DORBIT will display the entire model.
    5. Try running at a lower desktop resolution. For example, if you are running
    at 1600x1200, try running at 1280x1024.

    ------------------------------------------------------------- ------------------
    -
    Q2: Why does the model change from shaded to wireframe to boxes while I
    manipulate the view in 3DORBIT?

    3DORBIT will maintain a minimum frame rate by drawing the model as a wireframe
    or bounding boxes, if necessary, while you are manipulating the view.

    You can turn this off through Tools->Options->System->Current 3D Graphics
    Display->Properties->Adaptive Degradation. Uncheck Wireframe and Bounding Box,
    and set Maintain Speed to 1 FPS.

    Alternatively, you can use Continuous Orbit (3DCORBIT), which never uses
    Adaptive Degradation.

    ----------------------------------------------------------- --------------------
    -
    Q3: How do I set the center of rotation for 3DORBIT?

    There are three ways to set the center of rotation for use with the 3DORBIT
    command, depending on what you want to rotate about:

    1. If you want to rotate about the model center, invoke 3DORBIT, then select
    More->Zoom Extents from the right-click menu.
    2. If you want to rotate about an entity or entity set, select the entity or
    entities, invoke 3DORBIT, then select More->Zoom Extents from the right-click
    menu. At this point, you can orbit about your selected entity or entity set.
    To view the entire model while orbiting about the selected entity or entities,
    exit then re-enter 3DORBIT.
    3. If you want to rotate about a point, invoke CAMERA, accept the default
    position, and then type or select the target point (using OSNAP can be handy
    here). Then invoke 3DORBIT.

    --------------------------------------------------------------- ----------------
    -
    Q4: Do I need to download a Heidi driver for my card to enable 3D hardware
    accleration?

    You do not need to download any Heidi driver to enable 3D hardware acceleration
    in AutoCAD 2000. As long as you have a video card with robust
    hardware-acclerated OpenGL 1.1 support, and you have 3D hardware accleration
    enabled, you will be ready to go.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------- -----------
    -
    Q5: Which video cards are capable of hardware accelerated 3D in AutoCAD 2000?

    While we can't make any specific card recommendations, we can say that a robust
    OpenGL driver is required. Specifically, the card must include an OpenGL 1.1
    ICD (Installable Client Driver). Some cards will mention OpenGL support
    through an MCD, MiniGL, or QuakeGL. These cards are generally not capable of
    providing hardware accelerated 3D in AutoCAD 2000.

    For a good starting point in selecting a 3D video card to use with AutoCAD
    2000, try this link:

    http://ktx.com/support/html/tested_graphics_cards.html

    Video card manufacturers often update their OpenGL drivers with bug fixes and
    performance enhancements. If you are having trouble which seems video-related,
    visit your card manufacturer's website for their latest OpenGL drivers. If
    you are still having trouble, post to this newsgroup and we'll try to help.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------ -------------
    -
    *Q7: Why is my 3D video card unable to accelerate 3D at 1600x1200 resolution?

    While a 3D video card may be capable of displaying at 1600x1200 desktop
    resolution, it may not be capable of accelerating 3D at that resolution. This
    is due to the much greater memory requirements of 3D.

    The following table shows how much memory your 3D video card must have to
    accelerate AutoCAD 3D at a given desktop resolution:

    If you need to run With 32 bits of With 24 bits of With 16 bits of
    AutoCAD at a desktop color and z-buffer color and z-buffer color and z-buffer
    resolution of... accuracy: accuracy: accuracy:
    ------------------- ------------------ ------------------ ------------------
    640x480 3.5 MB 2.6 MB 1.8 MB
    800x600 5.5 MB 4.1 MB 2.7 MB
    1024x768 9.0 MB 6.8 MB 4.5 MB
    1152x864 11.4 MB 8.5 MB 5.7 MB
    1280x1024 15.0 MB 11.3 MB 7.5 MB
    1600x1200 22.0 MB 16.5 MB 11.0 MB

    As you can see from the table above, in order to accelerate 3D in AutoCAD at
    1600x1200, you need at least 11 MB on your video card.

    What exactly does "32 bits/24 bits/16 bits of color and z-buffer accuracy"
    mean?

    In order for your 3d video card to accelerate 3d operatons, it needs a certain
    amount of memory to display colors and obscure hidden surfaces at each pixel.
    The accuracy with which a card can color each pixel varies, but the most common
    amounts are 24 bits (displaying 16 million colors) and 16 bits (displaying 65
    thousand colors). Similarly, the accuracy with which a card can determine
    hidden surfaces (called depth- or z-buffering) also commonly requires 24 or 16
    bits per pixel. Additonally, for smooth animation, the card must work on the
    next frame while simultaneously displaying the current frame to the user
    (called double-buffering). All of these requirements result in much greater
    memory requirements for 3D versus 2D.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------- -----------
    -
    *Q7: How can I make hidden lines display more accurately in hardware
    acceleration mode?

    In hidden line shademode (SHADEMODE H), if you are seeing lines that should be
    hidden, try the following workaround. Invoke the 3D clipping planes window
    (3DCLIP), enable the front clipping plane, then move the front clipping plane
    away from your objects (drag downward in the clipping window). You may want to
    zoom extents (ZOOM E) prior to invoking 3DCLIP, to ensure that you can move the
    front clipping plane away from all of your objects.

    --------------------------------------------------------------- ----------------
    -
    Q8: Why do my objects disappear when I enable materials?

    3DORBIT and SHADEMODE support material colors, but not material textures (this includes bitmaps, bumpmaps, and the 3d textures granite, marble and wood). Many materials with textures have underlying black colors, causing the object to be drawn in black and seemingly disappear. You can fix this through the RMAT command: select the material in question, choose Modify, then set
    Color/Pattern, Ambient, and Reflection to a lighter color.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------- --------------
    -
    *Q9: Why does my drawing become dark when I enable materials?

    The global material used by RENDER is dark by default. When you enable
    materials and use SHADEMODE or 3DORBIT, this global material is used. To fix this, invoke the RMAT command, select *GLOBAL* from the list of materials, select Modify, and change Value to 1.0 for each of Color/Pattern, Ambient, and Reflection.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/80049703@N00/ http://mtbnick.fotopic.net/
    http://s240.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/dyNick_Scots/
    http://designgraphicsshowcase.blogspot.com/

    High School Classroom - 21 AutoCAD 2007, Inventor 11, COREL Draw & Paint 11. Very Unreliable Network.

    Home - AMD 2.1GHZ - 512Ram, 64 Video,
    Laptop Inventor 7, Autocad 2004, Corel 11

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Oregon, Usa
    Posts
    208

    Default

    Yes, definitely helpfull.
    By the way, after I cast my vote I was automaticly removed from the
    forum and I had to reenter it. Dont think you intended that. Hope the vote went through. Best regards, Frank

  3. #3
    Super Member Mr T's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Loch Oich SCOTLAND...
    Posts
    1,641

    Default

    Funny, I just voted there and it went to the results page ?

    Nick
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/80049703@N00/ http://mtbnick.fotopic.net/
    http://s240.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/dyNick_Scots/
    http://designgraphicsshowcase.blogspot.com/

    High School Classroom - 21 AutoCAD 2007, Inventor 11, COREL Draw & Paint 11. Very Unreliable Network.

    Home - AMD 2.1GHZ - 512Ram, 64 Video,
    Laptop Inventor 7, Autocad 2004, Corel 11

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Fantastic !!

    Mr T...can u post links to such FAQ related to 2D also, if they are previously posted on Forum!!
    i am sure YOU CAN!!
    [][] LESS IS MORE. MORE IS NO MORE [][]

    Rajesh Advani

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Q3 = 3DORBITCTR

  6. #6
    Full Member Benson's Avatar
    Using
    Architectural DT 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    US
    Posts
    44

    Default 3D Tips

    Also good to keep your object data as Excel data rather than using attributes. This means that you don't need to turn the entities into blocks and also the master excel sheet can be linked to accounts - meaning instant cost feed back.
    ---------------------------------------
    CAD Resource Site
    http://www.herculedesign.com/
    ---------------------------------------

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Also good to keep your object data as Excel data rather than using attributes. This means that you don't need to turn the entities into blocks and also the master excel sheet can be linked to accounts - meaning instant cost feed back.
    Benson,
    Can you give us a tip on how to do that?

  8. #8
    Full Member roof11's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    32

    Default

    nice info from Mr. T

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Revit MEP 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,
    Thank you for sharing all information 3D. Mr. T

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts