+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    dave_in_delaware's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro
    Computer:
    Generic
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom X4 64-bit
    Monitor:
    Samsung 913N
    Using
    Map 3D 2002
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Newark, DE
    Posts
    4

    Cool AutoCAD Rel 12...

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Well, I guess this will be the perfect place to post my "dinosaur" version. LOL. I purchased it many many years ago to get me through college. I used it to design, edit, and plot my thesis drawings in architecture school.

    AutoCAD Release 12 (and c2 upgrade), on 5.25" floppies! I have the whole "box set" from Autodesk: disks (w/ sleeves), manuals, tablet template, etc. I received it on Sept 22, 1992, and it's still in perfect shape. Here's a collage I made:



    Upper left = Rel 12 disk set
    Middle left = original shipping box from Autodesk
    Lower left = boxes within shipping box
    Upper right = "Executables 1" floppy
    Main image = contents all shown

    I ran this software on a 486/33 with 8 MB RAM with NO problems. I actually still have the computer, and the Hitachi Puma tablet!
    Last edited by dave_in_delaware; 27th Nov 2007 at 02:58 am. Reason: added a picture and more text

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Strix's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    3,081

    Default

    oh wow - windows or Dos?
    Find your new best friend at Rain Rescue

    If you are a good drafter, tech will help. If you are a bad drafter, nothing will help. - Jack_O'neill at CADTutor

  3. #3
    Super Member dumfatnhappy's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dumfatnhappy's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    CPU:
    3.6 dual quad core
    RAM:
    16 gig
    Graphics:
    Quadro FX 1700
    Primary Storage:
    269?
    Monitor:
    twin 24" flat panels
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    dumfatnhappy's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Staff Designer
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    3D modeling
    Using
    MEP 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Ruskin, Fla
    Posts
    696

    Default

    that would be DOS (which totally rocked) Acad went windows with 13 (who can forget that?) btw Dave, I still use a tablet
    dum


    'Suppose you were an idiot. And suppose you were a member of Congress.. But I repeat myself.'
    --Mark Twain

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    dave_in_delaware's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro
    Computer:
    Generic
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom X4 64-bit
    Monitor:
    Samsung 913N
    Using
    Map 3D 2002
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Newark, DE
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dumfatnhappy View Post
    ... btw Dave, I still use a tablet
    I don't use mine anymore, but I still have it. It's sitting under my drafting table right now.



    I was thinking of putting my Rel 12 version up on Craigslist (or similar) and selling it. Do you think anyone would buy it, for a collection or something? Or maybe someone out there actually (gasp!) still uses Rel 12!

    Does anyone know of an AutoCAD museum that might want it?

    Maybe I should email Autodesk and ask them? They'd probably laugh that I kept it this long.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    45,698

    Default

    If you do decide to sell it you might want to do so as a "collectable" and not as software. AutoDesk legally claims their software is licensed not sold and therefore cannot be resold or transferred. The license is considered to be a limited right to use the software.

    Take a look at the November 2007 issue of CADalyst Magazine. Page 12 carries an article entitled, "Licensed to Resell?". It's about a guy who is challenging AutoDesk on this point. For further details regarding the complaint go to:

    www.adskvoda.com

    Look at the paragraph labeled: David vs. Goliath - Tuesday, September 11, 2007
    Last edited by ReMark; 27th Nov 2007 at 12:14 pm. Reason: Added info re article
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Senior Member GhostRider's Avatar
    Computer Details
    GhostRider's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Business
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 755
    Motherboard:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intell Core 2 DUO 2.8ghz
    RAM:
    3 GIG
    Graphics:
    Ati RAEDON HD 2400 Dual -512 Ram
    Primary Storage:
    160 Gigger
    Monitor:
    Dual Acer 22"
    Discipline
    Architectural
    GhostRider's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Residential Engineering/Contracting
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    N. Carolina
    Posts
    405

    Default

    Need this for plotting???? Ran across it in my attic, I'm sure it still works.... from Rel. 10 days....
    Last edited by GhostRider; 6th Mar 2008 at 08:35 pm.
    So many commands, so little time....

  7. #7
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Computer:
    HP ZBook 17
    CPU:
    i7-4810MQ @ 2.80 GHZ
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro K4100M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) HP 23"
    Discipline
    Civil
    rkmcswain's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    CAD Manager
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,389

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dumfatnhappy View Post
    that would be DOS (which totally rocked) Acad went windows with 13
    There was a R12 for Windows version.
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Architectural DT 2006
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I think r12 or 13 was the last of the cross platform versions. You could get DOS, Windows, MAC or even Unix versions back then. If I remember the benchmark testings Dos was beaten out only by Unix for speed. Even through 14 they were still doing speed tests against 12 for DOS.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Computer:
    HP ZBook 17
    CPU:
    i7-4810MQ @ 2.80 GHZ
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro K4100M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) HP 23"
    Discipline
    Civil
    rkmcswain's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    CAD Manager
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,389

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hawkmoon36 View Post
    I think r12 or 13 was the last of the cross platform versions. You could get DOS, Windows, MAC or even Unix versions back then. If I remember the benchmark testings Dos was beaten out only by Unix for speed. Even through 14 they were still doing speed tests against 12 for DOS.
    Yes, R13 was the last version available on non-Microsoft platforms.
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  10. #10
    Full Member malevy's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I used version 9 back in 1987 talk about ancient.. alot of the commands are still the same today

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post
    Yes, R13 was the last version available on non-Microsoft platforms.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts