+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    110

    Default couldn't find linetype files in autocad

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    I was wondering if anyone might be able to help me here. I have created some of my own linetype (.lin) which i would like to save them to Autocad so that they would appear in the autocad linetype list without having to load them from somewhere else.

    Does anyone know where autocad 2005 keeps its linetypes? I checked them in the C:\program files\autocad 2005 but to no avail.

    Thank you in advance

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    El Paso, Tx
    Posts
    551

    Default

    should be something like this:

    C:\Program Files\Autodesk Land Desktop 2006\Support

  3. #3
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,207

    Default

    C:\\Documents and Settings\\"users name"\\Application Data\\Autodesk\\AutoCAD
    2005\\R16.1\\enu\\support\\acad.lin
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  4. #4
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    When you find the acad.lin file, add your linetype definitions to the end of acad.lin under the section ;; User Defined Linetypes

  5. #5
    Super Member riga's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    723

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alan Cullen View Post
    When you find the acad.lin file, add your linetype definitions to the end of acad.lin under the section ;; User Defined Linetypes
    Or to acadiso.lin if you use drawings with measurement set to metric system
    HAVE A NICE DAY

  6. #6
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    Riga, I tend to steer clear of *iso.* files. Even if your drawing is set up for metric, the definition works fine, because 2 unit line length is still 2m or 2mm, so really doesn't matter that much. Besides, I prefer to keep everything to acad.* files, much neater and cleaner IMHO.

  7. #7
    Super Member riga's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    723

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Alan Cullen View Post
    Riga, I tend to steer clear of *iso.* files. Even if your drawing is set up for metric, the definition works fine, because 2 unit line length is still 2m or 2mm, so really doesn't matter that much. Besides, I prefer to keep everything to acad.* files, much neater and cleaner IMHO.
    Alan, it's not a question of preference but a question of praticity. I tend to use ONLY *iso.* files but the question is on how your templates/drawings MEASUREMENT variable is set (and MEASUREINIT, which control that variable at start). If they are set to 0 the default .lin file that autocad will use to load new linetype will be acad.lin, and if they are set to 1 it will look for acadiso.lin.
    I know that when loading linetypes you can always switch from a file to the other, but if I have to save new definitions of linetypes I prefer to do it in the file that will be searched as default (in my case it will be acadiso.lin and in yours acad.lin)
    HAVE A NICE DAY

Similar Threads

  1. Changing NTF files to DWF files, Can you download the NTF AutoCAD add on?
    By BenGoble in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st May 2010, 02:44 pm
  2. How do i find Offsite AutoCad projects!
    By Skilla in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th Jul 2007, 07:48 pm
  3. Image Files and Rotation of AutoCAD Files
    By Michigan Engineer in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th May 2006, 08:28 pm
  4. How do I convert .dwg files to .plt files in Autocad 2000?
    By DPATTERSON23 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st Jan 2006, 08:01 pm
  5. how to find macro files - acad14
    By kenk in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2006, 07:29 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts