+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    55

    Default Opening more than two files at a time.

    I used to open more than two files at a time by highlighting then right click to select open but doesn't work anymore.

    Please help.

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    El Paso, Tx
    Posts
    551

    Default

    Are you opening through ACAD or through Explorer?

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    55

    Default

    I am opening the files from explorer.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    El Paso, Tx
    Posts
    551

    Default

    hmmmm...did you see what your SDI is set to?

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Sorry, I don't know what SDI is.

  6. #6
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800
    Primary Storage:
    300Gb, 10K rpm
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    3,813

    Default

    Does it open two sessons of AutoCAD or does it not work at all or does it only open one of the drawings?
    Confusion between than and then
    In writing, than and then are often erroneously interchanged. In standard English, then refers to time, while than is used in comparisons. Wikipedia.com

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Using
    Land Desktop 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    salt lake city, utah
    Posts
    88

    Default opening two files at once

    Quote Originally Posted by edwin View Post
    I am opening the files from explorer.
    I've found by opening through explorer I get another session of autocad

    SDI is single document interface
    from autocad:
    Controls whether the program runs in single- or multiple-document interface. Helps third-party developers update applications to work smoothly with the AutoCAD multiple-drawing mode.

    0 Turns on multiple-drawing interface.
    1 Turns off multiple-drawing interface.
    2 (Read-only) Multiple-drawing interface is disabled because an application has been loaded that does not support multiple drawings. SDI setting 2 is not saved.
    3 (Read-only) Multiple-drawing interface is disabled because the user has set SDI to 1 and AutoCAD has loaded an application that does not support multiple drawings. (SDI was set to 1 before the application was loaded.) SDI setting 3 is not saved.

    If SDI is set to 3, AutoCAD switches it back to 1 when the application that doesn't support multiple drawings is unloaded.

    keep my regular autocad on 1, can have multiple dwgs open
    landdesktop defaults to 3 so only 1 drawing at a time will be open

  8. #8
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800
    Primary Storage:
    300Gb, 10K rpm
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    3,813

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    From File Explorer > Tools > Folder Options > File Types > highlight DWG in list, > Advanced
    > highlight open > Edit... > (If open isn't there use New.. to create it.)
    Application used to perform action:
    "C:\Program Files\AutoCAD 2008\acad.exe" "%1"
    Use DDE
    checked
    DDE Message:
    [open("%1")]
    Application:
    AutoCAD.r17.DDE
    OK > OK > Close

    Modify the line showing
    "C:\Program Files\AutoCAD 2008\acad.exe"
    to reflect your path to acad.exe.

    If you are using 2004 then the statement "AutoCAD.r17.DDE" will have to be changed to .r16. , I think r16, maybe r15 for 2004.
    Last edited by rkent; 30th Nov 2007 at 10:56 pm. Reason: OP is using 2004
    Confusion between than and then
    In writing, than and then are often erroneously interchanged. In standard English, then refers to time, while than is used in comparisons. Wikipedia.com

Similar Threads

  1. Opening many files in one drawing
    By homer in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2007, 08:26 pm
  2. Opening PLT files?
    By PeteUK in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th Apr 2007, 09:19 pm
  3. opening dwg files
    By carl mac in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12th Mar 2006, 12:41 pm
  4. Opening .igs files
    By amirintisar in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th Mar 2006, 07:32 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts