+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    55

    Default Opening more than two files at a time.

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I used to open more than two files at a time by highlighting then right click to select open but doesn't work anymore.

    Please help.

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    El Paso, Tx
    Posts
    551

    Default

    Are you opening through ACAD or through Explorer?

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    55

    Default

    I am opening the files from explorer.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    El Paso, Tx
    Posts
    551

    Default

    hmmmm...did you see what your SDI is set to?

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Sorry, I don't know what SDI is.

  6. #6
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    3,978

    Default

    Does it open two sessons of AutoCAD or does it not work at all or does it only open one of the drawings?
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Using
    Land Desktop 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    salt lake city, utah
    Posts
    88

    Default opening two files at once

    Quote Originally Posted by edwin View Post
    I am opening the files from explorer.
    I've found by opening through explorer I get another session of autocad

    SDI is single document interface
    from autocad:
    Controls whether the program runs in single- or multiple-document interface. Helps third-party developers update applications to work smoothly with the AutoCAD multiple-drawing mode.

    0 Turns on multiple-drawing interface.
    1 Turns off multiple-drawing interface.
    2 (Read-only) Multiple-drawing interface is disabled because an application has been loaded that does not support multiple drawings. SDI setting 2 is not saved.
    3 (Read-only) Multiple-drawing interface is disabled because the user has set SDI to 1 and AutoCAD has loaded an application that does not support multiple drawings. (SDI was set to 1 before the application was loaded.) SDI setting 3 is not saved.

    If SDI is set to 3, AutoCAD switches it back to 1 when the application that doesn't support multiple drawings is unloaded.

    keep my regular autocad on 1, can have multiple dwgs open
    landdesktop defaults to 3 so only 1 drawing at a time will be open

  8. #8
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    3,978

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    From File Explorer > Tools > Folder Options > File Types > highlight DWG in list, > Advanced
    > highlight open > Edit... > (If open isn't there use New.. to create it.)
    Application used to perform action:
    "C:\Program Files\AutoCAD 2008\acad.exe" "%1"
    Use DDE
    checked
    DDE Message:
    [open("%1")]
    Application:
    AutoCAD.r17.DDE
    OK > OK > Close

    Modify the line showing
    "C:\Program Files\AutoCAD 2008\acad.exe"
    to reflect your path to acad.exe.

    If you are using 2004 then the statement "AutoCAD.r17.DDE" will have to be changed to .r16. , I think r16, maybe r15 for 2004.
    Last edited by rkent; 30th Nov 2007 at 10:56 pm. Reason: OP is using 2004
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

Similar Threads

  1. Opening many files in one drawing
    By homer in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2007, 08:26 pm
  2. Opening PLT files?
    By PeteUK in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th Apr 2007, 09:19 pm
  3. opening dwg files
    By carl mac in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12th Mar 2006, 12:41 pm
  4. Opening .igs files
    By amirintisar in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th Mar 2006, 07:32 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts