+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    midasxl
    Guest

    Default Dimensioning a rectangle

    Hello, and thank you for your time. I am obviously very new to this. I would like to draw a top view of a 4' x 8' platform. Is there an easy way to choose the rectangle tool and simply assign it these dimensions? Thanks for your time.

  2. #2
    Super Member Mr T's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Loch Oich SCOTLAND...
    Posts
    1,641

    Default

    I use and teach the point and shoot method. Click on a start pt, point the mouse in the direction you want, then type in the size, use ORTHO, then return.

    Nick
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/80049703@N00/ http://mtbnick.fotopic.net/
    http://s240.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/dyNick_Scots/
    http://designgraphicsshowcase.blogspot.com/

    High School Classroom - 21 AutoCAD 2007, Inventor 11, COREL Draw & Paint 11. Very Unreliable Network.

    Home - AMD 2.1GHZ - 512Ram, 64 Video,
    Laptop Inventor 7, Autocad 2004, Corel 11

  3. #3
    midasxl
    Guest

    Default more detail

    That makes some sense, but when you say type in the size, how is that done? 4' x 8' ? How is the 4' and the 8' actually typed in? And what is ORTHO?

    Thanks,
    mark

  4. #4
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,661

    Default

    Alternatively, you could use relative co-ordinates. Start the Rectangle command, pick the lower-left corner of the rectangle and then enter @4,8 (assuming your drawing units are feet) at the command prompt.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Oregon, Usa
    Posts
    208

    Default

    Ortho is a drawing aid that helps you draw lines that are perfectly vertical or horizantal (parallell to the x or y axis). A line drawn in the X axis will be perpindicular (square to or @ 90 degrees to) to a line drawn in the Y axis with"Ortho" turned on. You should see a "button" at the bottom of your autocad screen that toggles "Ortho" on&off. I leave ortho on allmost constantly while I am drafting. Also to talk futher about entering dimentions for the "Rectangle" command your four by eight foot rectangle
    could be entered as: @48,96 if your drawing units are set to inches. The
    first number you enter after the"@" symbol will be in the X axis, and the
    second will be in Y axis (running with the height of your screen). Dont forget to place a comma between the two digits. I knowthis is really basic stuff but we all have to start somewhere Dont forget to click on the Question mark at the top of your screen for the Autocad help files. Also read the command prompt area at yor screen bottom while you are in the midst of a command as that will teach you what to do to a certain extent. One other thing that helped me (and Still does) is getting your hands on a used or new Auto Cad School text book.The text books often have information that isnt found in Autocad help files.
    Good Luck, Frank

  6. #6
    midasxl
    Guest

    Default Thank you

    Thank you all very much, I really appreciate your time and patience.

    Mark

  7. #7
    Super Member Mr T's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Loch Oich SCOTLAND...
    Posts
    1,641

    Default Re: more detail

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by midasxl
    That makes some sense, but when you say type in the size, how is that done? 4' x 8' ? How is the 4' and the 8' actually typed in? And what is ORTHO?

    Thanks,
    mark
    I point my mouse in the direction req'd then type in
    the size point mouse type in size etc etc

    This works in Isometric snap as well.

    When learning avoid the command line input. By all means
    read it for prompts but avoid using relative, absolute etc.

    Nick
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/80049703@N00/ http://mtbnick.fotopic.net/
    http://s240.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/dyNick_Scots/
    http://designgraphicsshowcase.blogspot.com/

    High School Classroom - 21 AutoCAD 2007, Inventor 11, COREL Draw & Paint 11. Very Unreliable Network.

    Home - AMD 2.1GHZ - 512Ram, 64 Video,
    Laptop Inventor 7, Autocad 2004, Corel 11

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts