+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Super Moderator Strix's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    3,081

    Default variable that controls items left behind when moving/copying etc

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I know this crops up occasionally, but nobody ever seems to give the definitive answer, so.....

    what is the variable that controls whether you can select a group of objects on screen, pan across, then all of them are impacted by the command rather than only the ones you can still see?

    I've been using LT2006 on my husband's laptop, and that takes everything you've selected (even if you can no longer see it), but this office has LT2007, and it's leaving stuff behind in a STRETCH

    Find your new best friend at Rain Rescue

    If you are a good drafter, tech will help. If you are a bad drafter, nothing will help. - Jack_O'neill at CADTutor

  2. #2
    Forum Deity NBC's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    2,109

    Default

    I think it depends entirely on how you select the items prior to panning.
    if you use a window/polygon to select the entities then it should keep them in the selection set.
    however, if you use crossing/fence, then only the visible will be in the selection set.

    however, i may be barking up completely the wrong tree here
    Life's constantly changing - keep up or get left behind

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Strix's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    3,081

    Default

    thanks NBC

    that shouldn't be the answer though - coz one machine copes with it fine and one doesn't
    Find your new best friend at Rain Rescue

    If you are a good drafter, tech will help. If you are a bad drafter, nothing will help. - Jack_O'neill at CADTutor

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,720

    Default

    Try PICKADD
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Super Moderator Strix's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    3,081

    Default

    I'll give it a go - but I'm not sure that was the one SLW

    what does it need to be set to?
    (bearing in mind I don't have access to both computers at the mo )
    Find your new best friend at Rain Rescue

    If you are a good drafter, tech will help. If you are a bad drafter, nothing will help. - Jack_O'neill at CADTutor

  6. #6
    Forum Deity NBC's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    2,109

    Default

    is it anything to do with DRAGMODE ?
    http://www.cadtutor.net/faq/questions/34/
    Life's constantly changing - keep up or get left behind

  7. #7
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,720

    Default

    Controls whether subsequent selections replace the current selection set or add to it.

    0 Turns off PICKADD. The objects most recently selected become the selection set. Previously selected objects are removed from the selection set. Add more objects to the selection set by pressing SHIFT while selecting.
    1 Turns on PICKADD. Each object selected, either individually or by windowing, is added to the current selection set. To remove objects from the set, press SHIFT while selecting.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  8. #8
    Senior Member mahahaavaaha's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    340

    Default

    Hi,

    I don't think there's any variable. If you excecute the pan while a window or crossing or fence selectionaction is ongoing, the objects that are no longer in view when you finalize the selectionaction will not be selected. This applies to all and sunder releases of ACAD. (At least since 2000). See:

    http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...linkID=9240617

    At least I think this might be your issue?

    /Petri
    Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans.
    John Lennon (1940 - 1980)

  9. #9
    Forum Deity NBC's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    2,109

    Default

    seems i was almost right with my initial thoughts. thanks for filling in the gaps mahahaavaaha
    Life's constantly changing - keep up or get left behind

  10. #10
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Strix, you could create a selection set using the lisp code (setq ss (ssget)) . Then invoke the command you want and type !ss to recover the selection set. Doesn't matter then whether any part of the selection set is visible or not, it will be acted on by the command. (I think).

    Oops, sorry, Strix, I just realised you can't use that code with LT.

Similar Threads

  1. getting 2D(Top, Left, Front) view from 3D object
    By alijahed in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 16th Oct 2007, 12:38 am
  2. No outlines while moving and copying objects
    By treoleo in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th Aug 2007, 12:37 am
  3. Left double quotation mark
    By johnengineer in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th Jul 2007, 02:05 pm
  4. LEADER JUSTIFY LEFT
    By J-LYLE in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th Aug 2005, 11:31 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts