Realistic Grass Anyone????

watso75

Hi guys

I am a landscape architect and am using 3ds max 9, Can anyone help me out with the most efficent way to produce realistic grass for my scene. I have used a few tutorials in the past which produces high number of polygons in my scene and can not produce a good enough effect of really short cut grass over a large area, the file size gets large and there are too many elemnts. Can anyone help out there?

PS I often use the standard short grass in materiel library but think there must be a better way

thanks in advance8)

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• watso75

• Cad64

• wbroberts

• craigp

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

My way is to attach this grass texture to your object / plane and in the texture menu, add the same image for a bump map. To create the bump map, use photoshop to make a copy of the texture, change it to black and white then up the contrast and save as the samr format and size etc... Now use this as your bump.

If you use vray, please let me know and I will send you a great link for VRAY textures which will give you all the necessary texture maps for a brill grass texture.

grass-5.jpg

I use the same method as Craigp, but I also throw the bump map into the Displacement slot to add a little more volume to the grass. I haven't played with the realistic grass feature yet, but I figured it would be pretty processor intensive, so I would probably only use it for small areas up close to the camera. Definitely not for a whole field.

My way is to attach this grass texture to your object / plane and in the texture menu, add the same image for a bump map. To create the bump map, use photoshop to make a copy of the texture, change it to black and white then up the contrast and save as the samr format and size etc... Now use this as your bump.