+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default Object Snap Problem

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have recently loaded acad 2008 and am finding that the intersect snap does not work on some lines, does anyone know why?

  2. #2
    Super Member GE13579's Avatar
    Computer Details
    GE13579's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Fujitso Siemens
    RAM:
    3.4Ghz
    Monitor:
    Samsung 19" TFT
    Using
    Mechanical 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,454

    Default

    Are they on the same z axis? If not you could use apparent intersection?
    "To alcohol; the cause and solution to all of life's problems." - Homer Simpson

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default

    Yes, apparent int. does work but checking the lines on properties they are all on Z0.

  4. #4
    Super Member GE13579's Avatar
    Computer Details
    GE13579's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Fujitso Siemens
    RAM:
    3.4Ghz
    Monitor:
    Samsung 19" TFT
    Using
    Mechanical 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,454

    Default

    Are the lines solid or dashed?
    "To alcohol; the cause and solution to all of life's problems." - Homer Simpson

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default

    All solid. Is it possible they are minutely off Z 0, and is there a way to move everything to Z 0?

  6. #6
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,527

    Default

    Attach the file.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default

    File too large to attach. Have found that although properties says lines are on Z 0.000000, if i make start and end points Z 0, the intersect osnap works! How can I move everything to Z 0 universally?

  8. #8
    Super Member GE13579's Avatar
    Computer Details
    GE13579's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Fujitso Siemens
    RAM:
    3.4Ghz
    Monitor:
    Samsung 19" TFT
    Using
    Mechanical 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,454

    Default

    PROPERTIES- change the Z value.
    "To alcohol; the cause and solution to all of life's problems." - Homer Simpson

  9. #9
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    This one has come up a lot in the last couple of weeks. Is there a problem with Z values creeeping in? Are survey strings being brought into drawings that aren't sorted properly? Even 0.0000001 will cause problems. For those who have Express, flatten every thing. For those who don't, I have no answer.

  10. #10
    Super Member GE13579's Avatar
    Computer Details
    GE13579's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Fujitso Siemens
    RAM:
    3.4Ghz
    Monitor:
    Samsung 19" TFT
    Using
    Mechanical 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,454

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Alan Cullen View Post
    ...For those who have Express, flatten every thing. For those who don't, I have no answer.
    To embelish a little on my previous answer, you can select everything, then bring up the PROPERTIES box, then input the z value a zero.
    "To alcohol; the cause and solution to all of life's problems." - Homer Simpson

Similar Threads

  1. Deferred Perpendicular Object Snap - how do I use it ?
    By RWeber in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24th Sep 2008, 10:53 pm
  2. Using object snap with different z-values
    By Siberian in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28th Mar 2008, 11:59 pm
  3. Object Snap
    By sagaa in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd Aug 2006, 03:25 pm
  4. Object snap lock problem
    By Rainy-Day in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2006, 05:33 pm
  5. object snap disappeared...???
    By hughesey in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 4th Oct 2005, 10:32 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts