+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 34
  1. #21
    Forum Deity BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,621

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I've been using Logitech mice for years, the Performance Mouse MX most recently and for some time. SetPoint is severely lacking; at most you can assign a keystroke "Ctrl+<Key>".

    ^^ Hence my ordering the Macro programmable mouse linked above.
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood

    Autodesk Exchange Apps
    ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  2. #22
    Full Member acadesign09's Avatar
    Computer Details
    acadesign09's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista
    Computer:
    SAMSUNG R410 pLUS
    RAM:
    4 ram
    Discipline
    Construction
    acadesign09's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    3D Max & Autocad 3D & 2D Operator
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Preparing of all concern presentation in Bidding, it includes 3D Max and 2D design. Responsible in all shop drawings, as-built and related take-off quantities. Responsible in supervising CAD operators.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    65

    Default

    Nice and very informative tips...thanks for posting it here...
    ...The moment I tried the best I can, the better I got the most wonderful design ever...

  3. #23
    Super Member SuperCAD's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SuperCAD's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Professional 64bit
    Computer:
    Some POS given to my by corporate...
    RAM:
    16G :-(
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA 2000
    Primary Storage:
    500G
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    SuperCAD's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Manager
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    Drawings for an exhibit fixture manufacturer.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    WI, USA
    Posts
    724

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RenderMan View Post
    ...at most you can assign a keystroke "Ctrl+<Key>".
    What else would you need it to do?
    Trying to explain the benefits of SolidWorks to a devout AutoCAD user is like trying to explain evolution to a creationist.

  4. #24
    Forum Deity BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,621

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SuperCAD View Post
    What else would you need it to do?
    You've never worked with MicroStation (MS), have you?

    When working with AutoCAD products, I have no real need for either of these devices (specifically the additional macro programmable buttons). I have a keyboard for that.

    When working with MS (something I'm cross training on now), however, the keyboard is almost useless. Everything stems from a menu, or toolbar or sort, with hundreds of palettes... it's retarded. I actually got the idea to purchase these devices as a result of some MS forums that had posted positive results, as the macro keys could be programmed with functionality that otherwise cannot be achieved with the standard keyboard (something I find infuriating). Again, haven't tested them out yet to know for sure; I just love getting new gadgets! LoL

    Edit: The other device I ordered is the Logitech G13. I didn't mention that (in this thread) earlier.
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood

    Autodesk Exchange Apps
    ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  5. #25
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    one25IT's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 SP1
    Computer:
    64-bit Operating system
    CPU:
    Intel i7-2820QM @2.30 GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Quadro 2000M v280.26 DirectX v11
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    40

    Default

    I had the same problem using Autocad with a Logitech M305 mouse.

    Setting button 3 to Other > Generic button under Setpoint solved it halfway; panning became possible, but fitfully.

    Setting buttons 4 and 5 (mouse wheel left and right) to "Do nothing" solved the issue.

  6. #26
    Super Member SuperCAD's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SuperCAD's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Professional 64bit
    Computer:
    Some POS given to my by corporate...
    RAM:
    16G :-(
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA 2000
    Primary Storage:
    500G
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    SuperCAD's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Manager
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    Drawings for an exhibit fixture manufacturer.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    WI, USA
    Posts
    724

    Default

    Another reason why I opted for the MX518. The mouse wheel doesn't have a left/right tilt. I bought a mouse that had that feature a long time ago and it frustrated me so much that I swore I'd never get another like that.
    Trying to explain the benefits of SolidWorks to a devout AutoCAD user is like trying to explain evolution to a creationist.

  7. #27
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,023

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by one25IT View Post
    I had the same problem using Autocad with a Logitech M305 mouse.

    Setting button 3 to Other > Generic button under Setpoint solved it halfway; panning became possible, but fitfully.

    Setting buttons 4 and 5 (mouse wheel left and right) to "Do nothing" solved the issue.
    Check out the Mouse software I linked in the above post.

    Quote Originally Posted by SuperCAD View Post
    Another reason why I opted for the MX518. The mouse wheel doesn't have a left/right tilt. I bought a mouse that had that feature a long time ago and it frustrated me so much that I swore I'd never get another like that.
    I do not like the tilt either.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  8. #28
    Forum Deity BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,621

    Default

    The G700's got onboard memory for different profiles... to which you can assign (as I have) acad.exe to an aptly named profile 'AutoCAD'. This combined with the ability to automatically switch profiles when an assigned application is the active window, the same buttons now have different functions simply by switching windows.

    This is the main reason I went from the Performance Mouse MX to the G700.

    In my AutoCAD profile, I set the Left Tilt, and Right Tilt buttons as 'Middle Button'... so NMW I invoke the PAN command (thank you MBUTTONPAN = 1).

    Separately, both the G700 (mouse), and the G13 (gameboard) have colors association with the profiles... so I've set the AutoCAD profile as red (same color as my command line text), and the MS profile green for simplicity.
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood

    Autodesk Exchange Apps
    ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  9. #29
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    3ds Max 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thank you for clearing this. I've been sitting here for hours wondering which command to assign to the middle button. I have a problem though. The panning occurs far too fast. If I just click and drag 1mm, my model disappears. I have to look for it for a while before discovering it somewhere in the horison. Any idea why that might be?

  10. #30
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    3ds Max 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Wait. Let me rephrase that. I have an aditional screen which I connect to my laptop. Panning is fine when the 3dsmax window is in my laptop screen, it pans far too fast when it is in my external screen. Any idea why?

Similar Threads

  1. Wheel mouse button
    By briancremin in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2011, 12:41 am
  2. Wheel not zooming, panning.
    By Zherohour in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 6th Dec 2007, 02:05 am
  3. Mouse Wheel
    By chance in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30th Oct 2006, 03:50 pm
  4. wheel mouse
    By EDLAFRENIERE in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th May 2006, 04:41 am
  5. Mouse wheel zoom
    By Tommo in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th Mar 2006, 06:46 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts