+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Full Member east§ide's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    76

    Default Best Way to do Color?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    So I mainly design rooms within a house that contain cabinetry, whether it's the kitchen, bathroom, or any other room. My boss has asked me to find a way to color in these pictures as realistically as possible. He understands that coloring in CAD isnt the best thing, but he's gotten renders from people and wants something similar. I dont have time to do renders, however, so I was using hatch to color in. Is there a better way to do this, or even a better way to use hatch? Also, is there a directory somewhere for skins or colors i can bring into Cad?

    Finally, is there a way I can just bring the line information into photoshop and just color them in there?
    Thanks in advance.
    Direct Cabinet Sales-Clark, NJ
    www.directcabinetsales.com
    Kitchen Cabinet Design and Installation
    20/20 Design Software and AutoCAD 2005

  2. #2
    Senior Member James's Avatar
    Using
    Revit 2009
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    357

    Default

    hi

    as impression is my topic for today, this could handle what you want but it is a program you have to buy and not a free plugin you could use in autocad.

    here is a link to impression http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...&siteID=123112

    there is a free trial to!

    here is a gallery of interior work from using impression http://impression.autodesk.com/galle.../details/3026/
    10100.co.uk ONC/HNC Building Studies :: FCAD32 :: AutoCAD 2009 :: Revit 2009 :: Architectural Technician A.C.I.A.T ::

  3. #3
    Full Member east§ide's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    76

    Default

    thanks for the info. i dont think that that's what im looking for right now as i doubt my boss will want to spring for another program, and i already have photoshop on my computer. that stuff does look great though. im just looking for a quick way to throw on some wood patterns and marble countertops..stuff like that
    Direct Cabinet Sales-Clark, NJ
    www.directcabinetsales.com
    Kitchen Cabinet Design and Installation
    20/20 Design Software and AutoCAD 2005

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,738

    Default

    Try using Materials.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Full Member east§ide's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    76

    Default

    i just want to reiterate that i DO NOT want to render..idk if that makes a difference

    where is/what are "materials"?
    Direct Cabinet Sales-Clark, NJ
    www.directcabinetsales.com
    Kitchen Cabinet Design and Installation
    20/20 Design Software and AutoCAD 2005

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,143

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by east§ide View Post
    Finally, is there a way I can just bring the line information into photoshop and just color them in there?
    Thanks in advance.
    I do this all the time. I just plot to .eps format and then open that in photoshop. Here's a little tutorial on how to set up a post script plotter. http://www.cadtutor.net/tutorials/au...pt-plotter.php

    Once you get the .eps file plotted and you open it in photoshop, you will be presented with a "Raterize Generic EPS Format" dialog. Be sure to set the resolution high, 300 pixels/inch or higher, in order to get sharp crisp lines. Then just throw in a new layer underneath, fill it with white and you're ready to start coloring.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  7. #7
    Full Member east§ide's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    76

    Default

    thank you!

    would you say that that's the best way to go about doing this?
    Direct Cabinet Sales-Clark, NJ
    www.directcabinetsales.com
    Kitchen Cabinet Design and Installation
    20/20 Design Software and AutoCAD 2005

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,143

    Default

    Best way?
    I don't know, who's to say which way is best?
    The method I described in my previous post is just my own personal workflow that I've been using for many years and it works really well for me. It's something you should definitely try and see if you like it. You already have Photoshop and it doesn't cost anything to set up the post script plotter.

    Otherwise, as stated earlier, you might want to check out the Impression software. I've never used it myself, but it looks pretty good. Or you might even want to consider learning sketch up.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  9. #9
    Senior Member brassworks's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    127

    Default

    If the renderings your boss has seen from others is done in Photoshop, it will likely be difficult, if not impossible, to produce something similar using AutoCAD.

    I don't know about this .eps stuff, but it sounds intriguing. I'll have to look into it.

    Using Photoshop, I make color renderings frequently here, though not always very sophisticated ones, primarily to show a client or a town body generally what a site will look like once built. The easiest way I have found to do this is to save a copy of the AutoCAD drawing off the network onto my local drive (C:\), since the Photoshop renderings tend to get very large. (Once I am done with the rendering, I burn it onto a CD for later use or edits, and to take it off my C:\ drive.)

    Then I make a PDF of the AutoCAD drawing showing all the linework I want, having first turned off any AutoCAD shading that I might not want in a rendering.

    Then I make a second PDF showing only outlines of the stuff I want to color (hence the value of having a separate layer for everything), making sure that I have first changed all of the layers in Layer Manager to 'continuous' so that when I color, the colors have a closed boundary to color up to. (Photoshop only sees a dashed line, for example, as several separate items, not as a single entity as does AutoCAD.)

    Then I open the second PDF, which is my working drawing to which I apply the colors, and create the several layers I will need for different items or surfaces. (To really speed things up, I have created a folder full of PDF models that I can open and drag-&-drop into my working PDF, for consistency in every rendering of colors for buildings, pavement, grass, water bodies, trees and shrubs, and so forth.) Then I use the magic wand to create an outline (in the lines layer), switch to the color layer I want, and use the bucket to fill it in. This is the quickest part of rendering. Once I have the working PDF the way I want it, I drag-&-drop the color and symbol layers into the first PDF, using Shift+move to allow for exact registration. Pull the linework layer to the top so that the lines print solid black, and you are ready to plot.

    I usually do not flatten the image, so that I can edit it later if need be. (If I do want to flatten it for a client or to send to another discipline, I make a copy, and flatten the copy.) Changes to the original drawing can be made in AutoCAD and a new linework PDF created and drag-&-dropped in, with (usually) minor corrections necessary in the color layers which are done quickly. Photoshop has a bunch of fill patterns for things like stone surfaces, and you can create your own patterns, as well.

    If you have to do renderings, you might as well have some ideas about quick ways to do them. Good luck, and happy coloring!
    Did you hear about the drafter who died? He couldn't draw his breath.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,738

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cad64 View Post
    Best way?

    Or you might even want to consider learning sketch up.
    I didn't think about using Sketch Up, that would be a good alternative. You could do what you need in the free version, but the Pro version adds the ability to share with other software .

    You can also get a free version of Inventor LT from Autodesk.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



Similar Threads

  1. Selecting By Color
    By Savnet Sinn in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th May 2007, 04:49 pm
  2. Color Rendering?
    By Castle in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31st Jan 2007, 06:49 pm
  3. Color faces,color edges commands
    By Lazarus in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st Jul 2006, 08:44 pm
  4. changing color in color control (layer )
    By ionica in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th Oct 2005, 07:45 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts