+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    151

    Default Leader with text in circle needed

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi, this question is similar to this one:
    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...=leader+circle

    But nothing in there helped, I didn't want to just start in that thread so I'm making a new one in hopes of a fresh start.

    Refer to the image attached, this is what I want to do, using one command and as few options as possible. In other words, I don't want to have to type the diameter of the circle, or which side to attach, or whatever. Just click the button, draw a leader, type text, and boom it's done. You can see that the leader will mostly attach to the left or right, but I can see how it might be bottom or top in some cases. And the circle would have to grow to fit however much text. And this is almost entirely going to be for little bits of numbers or text like shown. It's not for huge multiline notes or anything, so single line text is fine.

    Possible?


    Thanks!
    Attached Images
    aCAD 2007 and aCAD 2002
    XP Pro Sp2, 1gb, AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 2.2GHz
    Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe mobo
    GeForce 8400 GS, 512mb, PCI-E
    Swap file set to 1GB

  2. #2
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    You didn't state what release you are using so I assume the current release. Go to the Multileader Style and create a new style and set on the Content tab.

    Do this in your company template and have this style in all new drawings.
    Attached Images
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    If you don't have an earlier version of AutoCAD perhaps you might consider creating two blocks with an attribute for the number. The blocks could be named left bubble and right bubble or whatever suits your fancy. Insert the block and at the prompt for Number (or whatever prompt you choose to use) type in your response.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    151

    Default

    It's fast just to do a normal leader, type my number, then draw a quick circle, then to mess with a bunch of blocks and stuff.

    I have 2002, so no custom leaders.
    aCAD 2007 and aCAD 2002
    XP Pro Sp2, 1gb, AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 2.2GHz
    Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe mobo
    GeForce 8400 GS, 512mb, PCI-E
    Swap file set to 1GB

  5. #5
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,821

    Default

    Did you try any of the LISPs in the other thread? If you will Google, you will probably find some more. Try this one...
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Once the block is made (including the attribute) it is just a matter of inserting one copy of each in the drawing. From then on just copy the block with the orientation you're interested in and then double click it to change the attribute or use ATTEDIT.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Strix's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    3,081

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Vigilante View Post
    It's fast just to do a normal leader, type my number, then draw a quick circle, then to mess with a bunch of blocks and stuff.

    I have 2002, so no custom leaders.
    ... and then to align the circle where it's supposed to attach to the leader (unless you're one of those annoying people who eyes stuff in so editing afterwards highlights all sorts of errors)

    what's wrong with making an attributable block?
    Find your new best friend at Rain Rescue

    If you are a good drafter, tech will help. If you are a bad drafter, nothing will help. - Jack_O'neill at CADTutor

Similar Threads

  1. Leader Text.....
    By tzframpton in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30th Jan 2012, 04:07 pm
  2. Leader and Multi Text
    By Bespoke in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd May 2007, 11:11 pm
  3. Right justified quick leader text
    By Siberian in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 3rd Jul 2006, 05:11 pm
  4. Leader for Point text
    By Mark D Laing in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th Jun 2006, 02:48 pm
  5. Inventor 10 Leader text Glitch
    By TERRORS42 in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2006, 07:30 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts