+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27
  1. #21
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    FjÀrdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I think it comes down to AutoCAD-geeks (as we all are, right? ) being so pedantic! Trust me Coey - noone will notice if that piece of insulation is slightly off...it's too bad, but it's like that..

    My moment of revelation came when I was out on site and I saw my drawings, that I had spent hours and hours getting right - being first shrunk from A1 to A3 (half for you imperical dudes) and then measured on with a yard stick..
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  2. #22
    Super Moderator Strix's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    3,081

    Default

    how about blocking one 'curl', arraying it, then slapping successive scales on it, then blocking the result?
    Find your new best friend at Rain Rescue

    If you are a good drafter, tech will help. If you are a bad drafter, nothing will help. - Jack_O'neill at CADTutor

  3. #23
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    This was done slowly and manually, by extracting the "Bat" shape, and using Rotate 3D about the x-axis - not very practical, but I've got a quiet day
    Attached Images

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eldon View Post
    This was done slowly and manually, by extracting the "Bat" shape, and using Rotate 3D about the x-axis - not very practical, but I've got a quiet day
    Thats exactly what i have been trying to do but i dont think the functions you suggest exist on Acad LT.

    I think i'll just go with what Tiger suggests, and just realise that no-one is really going to notice/care whether or not the linetype fills the space, im just trying to be too much of a perfectionist!

    Thanks a lot guys, its been helpful!

  5. #25
    LElkins
    Guest

    Default

    OK. This isn't perfect by any stretch of the imagination, but it is an option for you.

    The attached drawing contains a dynamic block, which in turn contains 5 lines. It scales down to half of the start.
    There are 6 pick points, so you can stretch each portion of the insulation as you need it.

    Like i said, not perfect, but maybe you can play with it a bit.

    Cheers
    Last edited by LElkins; 22nd Feb 2008 at 01:46 pm.

  6. #26
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LElkins View Post
    OK. This isn't perfect by any stretch of the imagination, but it is an option for you.

    The attached drawing contains a dynamic block, which in turn contains 5 lines. It scales down to half of the start.
    There are 6 pick points, so you can stretch each portion of the insulation as you need it.

    Like i said, not perfect, but maybe you can play with it a bit.

    Cheers
    Yeah, this gives me the same result as chopping the lines and giving each segment a different linetype scale, thats the way i've decided to deal with the issue.

    It seems AutoCAD LT isnt intelligent enough to do what i want. Thanks for your help.

  7. #27
    LElkins
    Guest

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Have just added a 'wish' to the AUGI wish list.

    The ability to set a start and end linetype scale, similar to the ability to set a start and end width with a pline.

    Cheers

Similar Threads

  1. Extrude with taper angle in VBA
    By Joro-- in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 7th Sep 2009, 11:03 am
  2. Face taper of a cube?
    By CADIDAC in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 8th Dec 2007, 02:53 pm
  3. Taper window blocks
    By Kukaz in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th Dec 2006, 06:22 pm
  4. Extruding a closed polyline with a taper, along a path.
    By BryanSchlegel in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10th Jan 2006, 04:47 pm
  5. cannot get taper to work on one of two solids
    By jsragman in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th Nov 2005, 06:13 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts