+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default Changing Opacity of Solid Hatch

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Is there a way to change the opacity of a solid hatch fill color? I want to 'highlight' some areas in plan, but want the colors to be transparent. I'm using Autocad 2007.

  2. #2
    Senior Member azzro10's Avatar
    Computer Details
    azzro10's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    311

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HiFiJr View Post
    Is there a way to change the opacity of a solid hatch fill color? I want to 'highlight' some areas in plan, but want the colors to be transparent. I'm using Autocad 2007.
    you could just use a dots hatch patten placed close together making it look transparent

  3. #3
    Super Member CADken's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADken's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    Toshiba Satellite A135
    CPU:
    Intel Pentium T2080 @ 1.73GHz, 1733 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
    RAM:
    Slot 1: 1GB DDR Slot 2: 1GB DDR
    Primary Storage:
    Toshiba 110GB, Maxtor External HD 120GB
    Monitor:
    Notebook Monitor + 22" NEC AccuSync LCD223wxm
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    East Coast - Pennsylvania
    Posts
    828

    Default

    i'm not aware of a "highlight" function... typically clouding the area works as calling it out, however you could use dashed lines or dot (as suggested above) to "highlight" an area and have it remain somewhat transparent.
    Fireman | Draftsman | Fabricator
    Running Windows 7 with AutoCAD 2010
    the Battalion East Side Pride

  4. #4
    LElkins
    Guest

    Default

    Could you not just set the draw order of the hatch to back, that way the area will be 'highlighted' and you will be able to see the linework too.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Senior Member architecture68-raff's Avatar
    Using
    ADT 2005
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    159

    Default

    The easiest way to do this is to modify a plot style for screening. I typically use a value between 10-40 for the screen, depending on what the application is.

    After you have done this, then either apply your new plot style to your object or hatch layer (stb), or assign your hatch to the screened color (ctb).

  6. #6
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,298

    Default

    You could try SUPERHATCH and set transparency and fade. You just need to take a solid color and save it as an Image in an Image Editor. I used a screen shot and print screen and cropped the color. Select the hatch then Properties and I adjusted the Transparency, Intensity and Fade etc. through Properties.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    indianateresa's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Computer:
    Dell
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana USA
    Posts
    9

    Default transparent hatch

    Thank you! I've been searching HELP for a transparency setting. Never occurred to me to just push the hatch to the background.

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    9

    Laughing To @SLW210

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    You could try SUPERHATCH and set transparency and fade. You just need to take a solid color and save it as an Image in an Image Editor. I used a screen shot and print screen and cropped the color. Select the hatch then Properties and I adjusted the Transparency, Intensity and Fade etc. through Properties.

    THANK YOU! Great solution! Congratulations!

Similar Threads

  1. explode solid hatch ?
    By vinod in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 19th Jan 2012, 03:51 pm
  2. Solid Hatch problem
    By Niz in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12th Jul 2010, 12:52 am
  3. Objects over solid hatch
    By stv in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th Oct 2006, 02:44 pm
  4. solid hatch error
    By daiharv in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th Jun 2005, 10:18 am
  5. solid hatch hides lines
    By smollensky in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th Dec 2003, 08:17 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts