+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Full Member SilverTiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SilverTiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    SilverTiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    I work at Dana, assembling truck axles
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    32

    Default Recover from .sv$

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    How do I change the file extension in an autosave file from .sv$ to .dwg AND have it successfully open up without it saying "invalid file fromat"? I'm currenty using ACAD 2005 Full version on Windows XP.
    File type: AutoCAD Autosave Drawing.

    Things I've already tried:
    1. Renamed the file in Explorer, only to find out that it just tacked the .dwg directly onto the file name in front of the .sv$ extension (blabla.dwg.sv$)
    2. Opened the file in Notepad and successfully changed the extension, but AutoCAD said it was an invalid file format when I tried to open it.
    3. Went to the file's properties and changed the "Opens With" option to AutoCAD which I knew wouldn't work but tried it anyway.

    Any suggestions?
    ST

  2. #2
    Senior Member architecture68-raff's Avatar
    Using
    ADT 2005
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    159

    Default

    To rename the files correctly in explorer, go to Tools -> Folder Options and then go to the view tab. Uncheck the option "Hide extensions for known file types". You should now be able to change in explorer correctly to blah.dwg instead of blah.dwg.sv$

    I would recommend going that route as opposed to opening in Notepad and renaming.

  3. #3
    Full Member SilverTiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SilverTiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    SilverTiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    I work at Dana, assembling truck axles
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Thx! It worked! Whew...
    ST

  4. #4
    Junior Member Stangman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Iowa, US
    Posts
    19

    Default

    I like to also change the location of my automatic saves to somewhere more accessible. In options, under file tab just change the Automatic File Save Location. You might already know that, but just figured I'd add it in.
    Fueled On Adrenaline

  5. #5
    Full Member SilverTiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SilverTiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    SilverTiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    I work at Dana, assembling truck axles
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Yeah, I'll try that. Thanks.
    ST

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2004
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Hi guys...

    just to piggy-back onto the original question, how do I make that Windows Explorer mod in Vista? I've tried plinking around in Explorer but can't find it.
    I've got this same problem.
    1. Renamed the file in Explorer, only to find out that it just tacked the .dwg directly onto the file name in front of the .sv$ extension (blabla.dwg.sv$)
    I am using LT 2004.

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,535

    Default

    did you do the step in post 2? This is still included in Vista as far as I can remember.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2004
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I just found the settings I was looking for in Explorer.

    I clicked on "Computer" (in Explorer)... then hit "Organize"... select the "View" tab.

    it's in there. Got my files.

    thanks

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2004
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    10

    Default

    But now i've got another question, as I battle futility.

    Are the sv$ files wiped out of the TEMP when you shut your PC down?

    I can only find sv$ files from this week, I had my machine shut down over the weekend.

    thanks.

  10. #10
    Forum Deity NBC's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    2,109

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    More information can be found from this excellent BLOG site - http://cadpanacea.com/node/15
    Life's constantly changing - keep up or get left behind

Similar Threads

  1. Recover a Drawing File
    By Rhayes in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 29th Jul 2009, 12:03 pm
  2. Autocad 200 recover drawing after crash
    By andyboy in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th Jan 2007, 06:22 pm
  3. RECOVER command (another "I used to" question)
    By brassworks in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th Nov 2006, 05:14 pm
  4. Help with fatal error...I can't seem to recover drawing file
    By ccfrosty in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th Dec 2005, 06:01 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts