+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: coplanar line

  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5

    Angry coplanar line

    what's coplanar line?
    I was trying to make a fillet between two line, but a message like this is showing in the comand line: Two entities are non coplanar, or when i try to convert to polyline this message is showing: 1 was not parallel to the UCS.
    what can i do to solve this?

  2. #2
    Super Member JBullseye74's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    JBullseye74's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facade Designer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK North West
    Posts
    773

    Default

    Type 'Change' Select the lines, 'Properties' then 'Elevation' then select 0. That should do the trick. OR use your Properties Box 'Control & 1' and set Z to 0.
    AutoCAD 2010

    '"Accept that some days you're the pigeon, and some days you're the statue."

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    thank a lot!!!!!!
    this workfully, you are a good bullseye, body!
    thank a lot, again

  4. #4
    Full Member Dman2900's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Gary, Indiana
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Just a little explanation of what was going wrong:

    The first message you saw about lines not being coplanar means that one line had a different elevation, or Z, then the other and it could not connect the two of them, i.e. one line has a Z of 742 and the other line has a Z of 743, thus that are not on the same plane.

    The other message means that the line has different elevations on each end and is not really on the same plane, i.e. one end of the line has a Z of 742 and the other end of the line has a Z of 743. The line looks flat in 2D but in reality if you looked at it in 3D it would be apparent that it is not flat.

    I hope this helps others that are not sure what was going on with this.

  5. #5
    Senior Member mahahaavaaha's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    340

    Default

    D'man!

    excellent explanation! Even I understood it!

    /Petri
    Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans.
    John Lennon (1940 - 1980)

  6. #6
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    9,963

    Default

    You could also use Flatten or search around here for some other LISPs like ZERO and FLAT and NOZ.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thank you again!! man, this is a great explanation to get the idea about coplanar lines. But, why, or how this line are drawed? What are the initial setting to this happend?
    I hope that you get my dude.
    Thank you for support me.

  8. #8
    Senior Member azzro10's Avatar
    Computer Details
    azzro10's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    311

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    just a simple mistake more than likely, u could have ascendently typed in a 3 point coordinate or anything
    You can get it jumpin' You can get it pumpin' You can get it chasing a cow. Matter o' fact, I got it now.

Similar Threads

  1. Lines are non coplanar
    By avopia in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 25th Apr 2011, 11:15 pm
  2. non coplanar
    By rookie37 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 25th Jan 2008, 05:07 pm
  3. non coplanar line issues
    By BTStark in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th Sep 2007, 06:56 pm
  4. Non Coplanar Issues
    By jjdavisarch in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st Jul 2007, 08:49 pm
  5. coplanar & non coplanar
    By gortex in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th Apr 2006, 10:41 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts