+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 14 of 14
  1. #11
    Super Member CADken's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADken's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    Toshiba Satellite A135
    CPU:
    Intel Pentium T2080 @ 1.73GHz, 1733 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
    RAM:
    Slot 1: 1GB DDR Slot 2: 1GB DDR
    Primary Storage:
    Toshiba 110GB, Maxtor External HD 120GB
    Monitor:
    Notebook Monitor + 22" NEC AccuSync LCD223wxm
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    East Coast - Pennsylvania
    Posts
    828

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by khama View Post
    Does anyone know definitively WHY USA still persists on using the out of date imperial system of Feet and Inches.. Honestly they should get with the program and change like most of the world has to metric.. Imperial wastes everyones time and money..

    Just my 0.02c.....
    it's being utilized everywhere in the US and it's ingranied into us at childhood... honeslty, I can visulize 8'-6" but ask me to show you 2 meters and all I can do is guess it's a little over 6' (once again, comparing it to the metric system).

    or I can draw a line 3'-8" and then change the units to make it seem like I've drawn everything in metric
    Fireman | Draftsman | Fabricator
    Running Windows 7 with AutoCAD 2010
    the Battalion East Side Pride

  2. #12
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    We, the always contrarian citizens of the U.S., should have pressed on with the adoption of the metric system full scale when it was first proposed decades ago. Instead, we have segments of the society who are fully conversant in it while others remain totally, may I even dare say "ignorantly" unaware of it. Our sense of "superiority" borders on the ridiculous.

    Side note: The international society of air traffic controllers has made English the defacto standard for pilots and air traffic controllers around the world. The prime reason is to avoid mid-air and ground based collisions brought on by mis-communication.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #13
    Super Member Tankman's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tankman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro SP3
    Computer:
    IBM T60 Thinkpad™
    Monitor:
    36" LCD Monitor/TV, 14" Thinkpad™ T60
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Posts
    1,796

    Default

    I believe the US of A should adopt, embrace, the metric system.

    At one time, we in the United States were goin' to adopt the metric system. Have not to date.

    Being a world wide community, a standard is required.

    A nice metric converter "Click 'n Convert" is available free online at
    http://www.haywardflowcontrol.com/pages/down_cnc.html
    Last edited by Tankman; 9th Mar 2008 at 01:59 pm.

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    188

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    As for the original question, why not just change the scale factor of the dim style?

    No drawing aspect will be changed and can be updated as needed
    as many times as needed

    Change the suffix, alt unit preferences, tolorances and anything else you could ever need to show
    Jon ~

Similar Threads

  1. change my drawing units to millimeters
    By dznytoy in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 22nd Feb 2017, 04:54 am
  2. using inches and mm in same drawing
    By New2CADmike in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12th Mar 2008, 02:14 pm
  3. Converting metric to inches
    By zimtok in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 25th May 2007, 08:16 pm
  4. jsut a quick question on converting metrics to feet/inches
    By wyeung in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 20th Mar 2007, 06:34 pm
  5. Drawing in Millimeters
    By corbins in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th Mar 2005, 02:47 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts