+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    54

    Default Entering data in Excel for AutoCad lines

    Hi. I have numerous individual lines. Simple lines with a start and end point only, but many.

    I was wondering if I could enter the x and y coordinates for all the lines in Excel and then bring them into Cad somehow.

    Is this possible? I am using 2007-LT

    Thanks in advance, Ken

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,581

    Default

    Look at 'Similar threads' at the bottom of the page.

  3. #3
    Full Member phillion's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2010
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Yes,
    make a number comma number column in excel, copy the column.
    (if you already have your data in two columns create a third column for number comma number. Use =A1&$C$1&B1 where cell C1 is just a comma (,) in excel)

    Type PLINE on the command line in CAD, hit Enter
    now Paste.

    hope that helps.


    edit: that just gives you one continuous line

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Is this correct for the Excel spreadsheet?

    Row 1
    Column A: X coordinate start line
    Col B: ,
    Col C: Y coordinate start line
    Col D: ,
    Col E: X coordinate end line
    Col F: ,
    Col G: Y coordinate end line
    Col H: Concatenate all lines to read X,Y,X,Y
    Row 2
    repeat for new line

  5. #5
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,581

    Default

    X is in A1, Y is in B1; put this in C1 =A1&","&B1
    C1 will be in the form of X,Y
    Copy the formula down the C column

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    54

    Default

    thanks, so I now have two columns. One that reads

    x,y for line start and the other x,y for line end

    do both of these columns get concatenated? Is there an additional comma that separates them?

  7. #7
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,488

    Default

    Is it not a complication to concatenate by formula to add commas ?

    The data file then has to be tidied up to get rid of the duplicate data

    If you merely enter the data in separate cells, then save the file as Comma Delimited (csv), then all commas are added between the data

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Sorry - a bit slow here. Is it my understanding that the end line coordinate should be in the same column in a row below the start line coordinate - not on the same row?

    When the excel file is saved as a csv file, I will then enter the line command and paste the entire column in the command line, right?

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    54

    Default

    It's almost working!

    It seems that I am unable to get separate lines - they somehow get attached by a 3rd line.

  10. #10
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,581

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Set up your data like this in excel
    Code:
    line
    0,0
    1,1
    
    line
    2,2
    3,3
    Then just copy/paste it to the command line.

Similar Threads

  1. How to import Excel x,y,z data into AutoCAD
    By sjm in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 16th Nov 2012, 09:35 pm
  2. Can I plot data from EXCEL in AutoCAD?
    By aror in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 15th May 2012, 02:38 pm
  3. Entering Survey Data using AutoCAD
    By CAD Panacea in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st Dec 2006, 02:00 am
  4. Entering data using coordinates.
    By O Snap! in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th Sep 2005, 03:53 am
  5. Excel data sheets into Autocad
    By Milner in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th Aug 2005, 05:39 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts