+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Delete command

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    109

    Question Delete command

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi

    Does anyone know how to erase/delete everything inside a given area on a drawing.

    I need to erase a lot of lines etc in a given area without selecting everyline individually. I would like to outline the area with a poly line and with 1 command delete everything insize or outside that closed polyline.

    Any suggestions.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member BOB'27T's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BOB'27T's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Dell Precision 690
    Monitor:
    Dual 21" Dell
    Using
    Civil 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tavares,Florida
    Posts
    416

    Default

    Here is a lisp for it. It is called CHOP, you draw a window or pline around all the items that need to be erased.
    Attached Files

  3. #3
    Senior Member CADgirl's Avatar
    Discipline
    Electrical
    CADgirl's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Drafter, Electric Heat Tracing
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    274

    Default

    When you select the erase command you can use the pickbox to select a large area- just hold the mouse button down and outline the area you would like to erase. If you move the pickbox to the left any object the boundaries are touching will be erased. If you move it to the right only objects where the entire object is in the selected area will get erased.
    I don't know if that answers your question, you probably already knew about the selection methods.
    I don't know how to do it using a polyline.
    "All I've ever wanted was an honest week's pay for an honest day's work."
    -Steve Martin

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,196

    Default

    Type E (Erase) on the command line, when prompted to select objects, type W (Window), Shift+Right-Click and select a snap, if you want to snap to the box, Hit Enter to Erase.

    Or use that lisp. Thanks, I will check that out.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    109

    Unhappy

    Sorry

    The above commands/lisp dont do what I require or at least I dont seem to be able to get them to do what i require.

    I want to delete everything within a polyline. This includes breaking lines if the polyline intersects that line, I dont want anything deleted beyond that line.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    56

    Default

    If you have just a few lines/objects you wish to keep as oppose to many you wish to delete then just move the objects/lines you want to save to another layer (0 layer comes to mind) & goto Edit>Select All then hit your delete key.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    109

    Default

    Sorry I dont think you understand.

    This is an example,

    I have a landscape as built drawing of a garden. The boundary is set and not going to change. I would like to outline the boundary and delete everything inside that boundary. I could select all the items one by one and create a new layer then delete them but that seems very long winded.

    I am sure there must be a lisp to create a boundary and deleted everything within that boundary.

    Thanks for the feedback.

  8. #8
    Senior Member CADgirl's Avatar
    Discipline
    Electrical
    CADgirl's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Drafter, Electric Heat Tracing
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    274

    Default

    Can you post a screenshot? Maybe that will help us understand what you want.
    "All I've ever wanted was an honest week's pay for an honest day's work."
    -Steve Martin

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    109

    Default

    I have attached a simple (not real) example.
    Attached Files

  10. #10
    Senior Member CADgirl's Avatar
    Discipline
    Electrical
    CADgirl's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Drafter, Electric Heat Tracing
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    274

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    If you draw a polyline, like you have in the example, can you use trim? I can't tell where the lines go and what's connected to what, but I would think you could use trim and then erase whatever is left over.
    "All I've ever wanted was an honest week's pay for an honest day's work."
    -Steve Martin

Similar Threads

  1. Delete key
    By steve @ mp in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 5th Feb 2009, 11:27 pm
  2. Help! Delete problems
    By Chuck W in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 4th Jul 2007, 11:29 pm
  3. delete outside a template
    By BDCEng in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 14th Nov 2006, 01:05 am
  4. how can I delete a block with vba, help me!
    By jeans in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Jul 2005, 07:16 pm
  5. Delete Layer(s)
    By CADTutor in forum Application Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2004, 08:12 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts