+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Convert Single line text to multi-line?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    We have an employee in our office that is kind of old school in some ways. That person has a habit of exploding everything possible in a drawing. But the most annoying is the text. Most of us create notations using mtext so it's easy to edit and manipulate.

    Is there a way to convert the single line text back to multiline after it's exploded?

  2. #2
    Senior Member GhostRider's Avatar
    Computer Details
    GhostRider's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Business
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 755
    Motherboard:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intell Core 2 DUO 2.8ghz
    RAM:
    3 GIG
    Graphics:
    Ati RAEDON HD 2400 Dual -512 Ram
    Primary Storage:
    160 Gigger
    Monitor:
    Dual Acer 22"
    Discipline
    Architectural
    GhostRider's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Residential Engineering/Contracting
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    N. Carolina
    Posts
    405

    Default

    First go smack him up side his head....
    There is an express tool called text to Mtext, works nicely..
    command is :
    txt2mtxt
    So many commands, so little time....

  3. #3
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    I used to one of those old school blokes. All my text was single line text. But a couple of years ago I discovered the versatility of multiline text, and use it all the time now.

    The aspect I love most about multiline text is the ability to spread the text block out, or narrow it down to get it to fit in tight little areas. Also with general notes, you can delete lines of text, or add more text, and there is no shuffling the text around to get it all back to normal formatting.

    Long live mtext.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity NBC's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    2,109

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alan Cullen View Post
    Long live mtext.
    Especially as part of attributes
    Life's constantly changing - keep up or get left behind

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Strix's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    3,074

    Default

    has MTEXT managed to do 'fit' yet?

    there are some aspects of MTEXT I hate, and some are great - all depending on what you're trying to use it for

    oh, and I'd do something about setting down some CAD standards for the office to work to more efficiently, then issue him with a written warning if he carries on causing so much wasted time (and company money)
    Find your new best friend at Rain Rescue

    If you are a good drafter, tech will help. If you are a bad drafter, nothing will help. - Jack_O'neill at CADTutor

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    tammy1625's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Microsoft Windows
    Computer:
    Dell Precision 390
    Using
    Civil 3D 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida
    Posts
    1

    Default

    GhostRider...you're genius!! Thank you so much!! General Notes are a pain to edit as single line text. This tool WORKS!! Amazing

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,124

    Default

    You're just discovering txt2mtxt now? Did you even know that Express Tools existed before this?

    Take a good hard look at what is available (some commands are only accessible via the command line) in Express Tools by reading the included FAQ.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Meecad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    RAM:
    16
    Discipline
    Construction
    Meecad's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Hydraulic Services Designer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    9

    Default Does anyone know if txt2mtxt is recognised by 2012 AC LT.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    You're just discovering txt2mtxt now? Did you even know that Express Tools existed before this?

    Take a good hard look at what is available (some commands are only accessible via the command line) in Express Tools by reading the included FAQ.
    Its coming up as an unknown command

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,124

    Default

    And the reason for that Meecad is that Express Tools in not available in AutoCAD LT. Most likely due to the fact that autolisp is not supported. Sorry, but you're out of luck. You'll have to see if someone developed a macro or diesel expression to handle the conversion in LT.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Electrical 2008
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    i used to be able to use that TXT2MTXT at my previous job using Mechanical CAD (i believe it was), but now i am using Electrical CAD 2008 and that darn command doesn't work...is there another way to do this ??

Similar Threads

  1. single line text
    By kc27315 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 4th Jan 2008, 03:41 am
  2. convert autocad single line texts to txt format
    By kart_trik in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2nd Jan 2008, 10:17 am
  3. Multi-Line Text
    By trin_rob in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th Jul 2007, 04:38 pm
  4. Multi-line text spacing
    By edwin in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Dec 2006, 06:00 am
  5. Editing a multi-line text
    By edwin in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18th Nov 2005, 02:37 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts