+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 52
  1. #21
    Super Member profcad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    profcad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Dual - Six-Core Xeon
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA GeForce GTX980TI
    Monitor:
    DUAL 24" WIDESCREEN
    Discipline
    Education
    profcad's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Professor Of CAD
    Discipline
    Education
    Details
    AutoCAD Revit Inventor Soldiworks
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    856

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by CADgirl View Post
    Why do you guys like it at 100? I could never understand it- guess I'm just not used to it.

    It's our electronic T-Square. It's all we had back in the Day. The DOS days...

    I will switch it to 100% to mess with my students. It drive them nuts.
    John Helton
    Professor of CAD
    Oklahoma City Community College
    Oklahoma City, OK

  2. #22
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Dipali's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 10
    Computer:
    TOSHIBA "SATELLITE"
    CPU:
    Intel inside CORE i7
    Monitor:
    viewsonicVA1916w
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Dipali's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    ARCHITECTURE
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    interiors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    1,099

    Smile

    Cross hair - 10,
    In my last job I was supervising team of draftpersons & only one had the habit of keeping it 100 & whenever I had to use his pc to explain him something or to do quick changes in his absence, I had very hard time adjusting to it. somehow can't work with set it to 100. to each his own.

    Model space blackground - black
    paper space background - white but page setup applied, so shows black whaer my drawing is.
    Type of drafting - Mainly residential drafting but some office renvation jobs once in while.
    Plot- mostly black & white. but use color 12 to show as default-redish when marking up drawings & making dwf's of it.


    Cadgirl,
    Your logic of keeping it white seems fair when u have to plot it in color most of the times.
    "An architect's most useful tools are an eraser at the drawing board & a wrecking bar at the site."
    Frank Lloyd Wright

  3. #23
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,039

    Default

    I don't see how anyone can have a white background, even for paperspace. I don't know about the rest of you, but I everyone here stares at what is basically a huge bulb all day long, so why make it as bright as possible to strain your eyes even more?

    Crosshairs: 100%
    Pickbox size: two notches bigger than default
    Model/Paperspace: Black in color for both
    Properties box: Set to left of screen, NOT docked. It slows AutoCAD down when open/closing because of the interface.
    Tool Palettes: Right side.
    Toolbars: Only 5 custom toolbars open, modified to fit my exact tools I want open. I'm a command line junkie so I have TONS of room in my drafting area open. I hardly ever use toolbars.

    People get on my station for something real quick, and after about 5 seconds they just give up. Because there's nothing hardly up on the screen. Just a black space with a huge crosshair. As soon as I'm done using the Properties/Tool Palette I do a Ctrl+1 and/or Ctrl+3 to get it out of the way.

    But anyone and everyone who has seen me draft has been blown away by my speed and accuracy. So I think I have a good setup personally.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  4. #24
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Kenley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    5,644

    Default

    I'm an electro mech draughter producing GAs of system panels typically 800mm square up to 2m high - all 2D, plus lots of electrical type drawings.

    Toolbars: Only 5 custom toolbars open, modified to fit my exact tools I want open. I'm a command line junkie so I have TONS of room in my drafting area open. I hardly ever use toolbars.
    That's 3 more than me!

    Black screen (white is too demanding on these old eyes)
    Crosshairs - 5. We are all old school here but I prefer the small crosshairs. If I need my T square I'll drop an XLINE.
    Properties box, palette & calculator docked and auto hidden on RH side
    Dynaminc input
    No command line
    Layers toolbar, personal toolbar & company toolbar (less than 20 buttons in total)

    I type most of my commands and hardly ever use the menu.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  5. #25
    Forum Deity NBC's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    2,109

    Default

    Modelspace - Black
    Paperspace - White
    Crosshairs - 35%
    Left side - Properties palette set to autohide
    Right side - Company palettes and dashboard (all set to autohide)
    Top - 3 rows of toolbars
    Bottom - Layout Tabs, scale buttons, Command line (3 rows), toggle buttons (old school style)
    Life's constantly changing - keep up or get left behind

  6. #26
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,363

    Default

    Mostly process piping & instrumentation diagrams here.

    Mdoelspace: Black (remember: Black is beautiful. And, once you've had black you never go back.)

    Paperspace: White

    Paper sizes on tabs: Only rarely.

    Crosshairs: 100%! Just the way God intended.

    Command line: Yes. Got to love those aliases.

    Right side: Properties palette.

    Top: 2 rows of toolbars.

    Left side: Single column of toolbars.

    Input: Digitizer with 16 button puck and 3-button mouse.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #27
    Super Member Hedgehog's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Hedgehog's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP sp 3
    Motherboard:
    Asus NCL-DE/1U E7520
    CPU:
    2 x Intel Xeon 7150N
    RAM:
    8 x Kingston KHX6400D2K2/4G 4 GB PC2-6400
    Graphics:
    NVidia Quadro FX 5500 1 GB Pci-X 16
    Primary Storage:
    2 x Seagte Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB HDD
    Monitor:
    ViewSonic VP2290b-2Black 22” LCD
    Using
    MEP 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Any Pub, Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    896

    Default

    OK... so we've heard the logical explanation of why people have crosshairs at 100%... is there any logic (other than personal preference) to having 5/7/10/35%?
    Only the lonely only ... PhotoGallery / Music

  8. #28
    Forum Deity NBC's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    2,109

    Default

    i have my crosshairs set to 35, as they cover approximately half the vertical portion of the drawing area on this present monitor.
    getting a new pooter soon, so that number may change
    Life's constantly changing - keep up or get left behind

  9. #29
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Kenley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    5,644

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hedgehog View Post
    OK... so we've heard the logical explanation of why people have crosshairs at 100%... is there any logic (other than personal preference) to having 5/7/10/35%?
    no from me - purely personal preference.

    Command line: Yes. Got to love those aliases.
    but you still get the aliases with dynamic input AND 3 extra lines of screen!
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  10. #30
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Dipali's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 10
    Computer:
    TOSHIBA "SATELLITE"
    CPU:
    Intel inside CORE i7
    Monitor:
    viewsonicVA1916w
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Dipali's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    ARCHITECTURE
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    interiors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    1,099

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Cross Hair - 10 Bcs '5' Seems Too Small To Me & '35' Or '100' Is Too Large For Me. 10 Is What I Am Comfertable With. I Also Use 'xline' A Lot Like Dbroada.
    "An architect's most useful tools are an eraser at the drawing board & a wrecking bar at the site."
    Frank Lloyd Wright

Similar Threads

  1. Page Setup
    By Furniture Man in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16th Feb 2008, 06:25 pm
  2. Page Setup
    By johnengineer in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23rd Jan 2008, 12:41 am
  3. changing setup
    By alijahed in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th Jun 2007, 03:30 am
  4. Wacom Intuos3 AutoCAD 2006 setup
    By JCWF in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th Sep 2006, 12:09 am
  5. print setup
    By camelotimage in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Mar 2005, 04:29 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts