Drawing 3D Curves

ChrisM

Draw out the profile then revolve.

Could you please be more specific as I am a beginner.

When you say draw out the profile, do you mean draw out the basic curve?

What do you mean by revolve?

Thank you for you help.

See the illustration below and follow the steps:

revolve.gif

1. Draw the profile for your rolling pin as shown. You can use lines, polylines, arcs and splines as required. Make sure all objects are joined end-to-end (no gaps).

2. Convert your outline to a Region, Draw>Region from the pull-down menu. Select all objects when prompted.

3. Revolve the Region to create a 3D Solid. Draw>Solids>Revolve from the pull-down menu. Select the two points indicated when prompted to define the axis.

That's it :)

Thanks for the reply.

I have drawn the shape that I want, but when it comes to using the region command, I get:

0 loops extracted.

0 Regions created.

What have I done wrong?

Thanks.

This usually happens if your objects are not drawn accurately end-to-end. You MUST use the Object Snaps to make sure everything is drawn accurately and there are no gaps or overlaps in the outline.

Thank you every body for your quick respones.

This is the final result that I managed to draw.

rollingpinacad.jpg

I would like to paste a few private questions that I asked the CadTutor that might help others:

Quote: (ChrisM)

When I'm looking at the object in wireframe mode, the rolling pin ends do not get drawn, but once I shade it, they do, why?

Also, could you explain what the region and revolve commands do(More how they work).

Quote: (CadTutor):

The AutoCAD display is often imperfect. It also depends a little on what type of object you used to define the end.

Well, there's not a great deal to say, they do what you can see they do. The Region creates a planar solid (contradiction in terms?) and Revolve revolves that plane through a specified angle about a specified axis.

Guest bbhunter