+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member Space Mouse's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    23

    Default copy profile from one profile view to another

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello, I am in acad 2008 3d and would like to place a profile from one profile view to another. This would be very useful to me! Any ideas would be appreciated. Hopefully it is something simple.
    Thanks,
    Sonya

  2. #2
    Full Member beauXjames's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    56

    Default

    Ahhh, Anchorage you are from, yesssssss? Nice time of year up in Alaska, I'm sure. Last time I was there was over the milennium and got stuck in a snowstorm in Bethel over on the west tundra...what a crazy time! Anyway, just thought I'd offer any assistance I could, but I've got a question about your question...

    Are you asking how, for instance, to take a 2D sketch from Front view over to Right view? If so, the easiest way is just to do a 3D rotate on it. Otherwise, if the profile isn't as orthographically sound, you can use the 3D align tool to really snap things in place.

    Hope it helps...and say hi to Joe for me...Eskimo Joe that is.

  3. #3
    Senior Member azzro10's Avatar
    Computer Details
    azzro10's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    311

    Default

    u could also just copy it i the current view then change to the desired view n just paste it in. making sure ur working in the right planes
    You can get it jumpin' You can get it pumpin' You can get it chasing a cow. Matter o' fact, I got it now.

  4. #4
    Junior Member Space Mouse's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Thanks beaux and azzro. I guess I was unclear, as I am not working in an actual 3d application. I Have a road profile, (dropped down a half of a foot) that would work well as the design profile for another portion of the road. I would like to copy the profile itself and put it into another profile view, but when I try, it copies the entire view, graph and all. I don't see any tool-driven way to do this, and the prospector won't let me drag it over into the other view....any other ideas?

  5. #5
    Junior Member Space Mouse's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    23

    Default Beter than bethel in a snowstorm

    oh yeah, it is kind of not a nice time of year hear beaux, hopefully it is gorgeous in austin!

  6. #6
    Super Member rustysilo's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rustysilo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WinXP
    Discipline
    Civil
    rustysilo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior CAD Draftsman
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL - USA
    Posts
    1,458

    Default

    I was thinking Profiles > Create Superimposed Profile until I read your last post. For this situation I think you may have to draw a polyline over the desired profile and then move that into place, then define the new profile for that section of road.
    "Constantly choosing the lesser of two evils is still choosing evil." ~ Jerry Garcia
    flickr |
    work | blog | creed
    rustysilo's tips & tutorials

  7. #7
    Junior Member Space Mouse's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    THanks Rusty,
    I think you are right. That turned out to be one of those great non-shortcuts!

Similar Threads

  1. portable profile
    By Strix in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 6th Sep 2007, 04:30 pm
  2. Profile errors
    By PaulR in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th Feb 2007, 09:09 pm
  3. Profile setup
    By Starkey in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th Feb 2007, 06:54 pm
  4. Road Profile
    By Jamalama in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th Jul 2005, 06:26 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts